Cover image for Ling & Ting : twice as silly
Title:
Ling & Ting : twice as silly
Author:
Lin, Grace, author, illustrator.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York ; Boston : Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Physical Description:
43 pages : color illustrations ; 24 cm
Summary:
"Identical twins Ling and Ting like to be silly, tell jokes, and laugh together"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
Elementary Grade.

360 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 2.0 0.5 170896.
ISBN:
9780316184021
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction On Display
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction On Display
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...
Searching...
J READER Juvenile Fiction Readers
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Ling & Ting are twins. They like to be silly. They like to tell jokes. Most of all, they like to laugh together. Laugh with Ling & Ting!

The beloved twins from the Geisel Honor book Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same! and Ling & Ting Share a Birthday are back to share their favorite funny stories with beginning readers. This collection of six laugh-out-loud stories is sure to tickle the funny bone of fans and new readers alike.


Author Notes

Grace Lin won the Newbery Honor award for her novel "Where the Mountain Meets the Moon".

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Twins Ling and Ting star in six very short stories for beginning readers, who will be charmed by the girls' talent for silliness and by the enjoyable, episodic chapters. The first shows Ting planting a cupcake in the garden, watering it, and waiting in vain for more to grow. In another, Ling fools Ting with a wordplay joke. In the last, titled Not a Silly Story, the girls pull from their recent experiences to write and illustrate the silliest tale of all. Clean lines, bold accent colors, and beautifully drawn characters make this a handsome addition to the well-crafted Ling & Ting series.--Phelan, Carolyn Copyright 2015 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Starred Review. PreS-Gr 1-Those irrepressible twins are back with more sweetly goofy antics in a third installment of the easy reader series. Six short chapters deliver on the title's promise; each episode unfolds with pitch-perfect comedic timing, ending with a chuckle-worthy (and decidedly silly) punch line. From forays into gardening (Will cupcakes grow if planted like seeds?) to musing about how high they can swing (Higher than a tree that goes into outer space!), the girls' lives are grounded in realistic childhood experiences, embellished with their creative imaginings. Lin helps emergent readers tell the difference through clever visual cues; the pretend and "what if" scenarios are distinguished by squiggly frames. As in the first two books, the gouache illustrations pop with vibrant color and texture. Lin's images help support the text, while extending the humor with subtle details in facial expressions and body language. Though each chapter can be enjoyed on its own, the various threads come together in the last chapter when the sisters co-create their own story-a book within the book. Fans of Ling and Ting will be delighted to see a few nods to previous adventures, while new readers will want to get to know these funny sisters better. A winning addition to a delightfully fun series. -Kiera Parrott, School Library Journal (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.