Cover image for The menagerie
Title:
The menagerie
Author:
Sutherland, Tui, 1978-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2013]
Physical Description:
272 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"When twelve-year-old Logan Wilde wakes up to discover a baby griffin hiding under his bed, he suddenly finds himself thrown into a mystery involving his classmate Zoe Kahn and a magical menagerie right in the middle of his sleepy Wyoming town"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
710 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.6 8.0 157107.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 4.4 15 Quiz: 60146.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780060780647
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Audubon Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Clarence Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Elma Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.

In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret--until six griffin cubs escaped.

If Logan and Zoe don't get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own.


Author Notes

Tui T. Sutherland was born on July 31, 1978 in Caracas, Venezuela. She is a children's book author who has also written under the pen name Heather Williams. Her books include Kingdom of Twilight, Runaway Retriever, Bad to the Bone Boxer, Dragonet Prophecy, This Must Be Love, and The Menagerie. She has written several series including Pet Trouble, Wings of Fire, and Avatars.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Logan and his dad have moved to sleepy Xanadu, Wyoming, in hopes of discovering the whereabouts of Logan's missing mother. The name of the town is no coincidence, for within its boundaries lies a secret zoo of mythical creatures operated by a direct descendant of Kubla Kahn. Logan's classmate Zoe Kahn is in a pickle because six baby griffins have escaped under her watch, and she is going to be in big trouble if they don't all end up back in their enclosure. Logan and Zoe, along with their friend Blue, cleverly (and secretly) set out to track down the griffins and figure out who let them escape in the first place. Full to bursting with animated fantasy creatures, such as a histrionic phoenix who erupts into flame whenever no one pays him enough attention and a pair of haughty, passive-aggressive unicorns, this silly, delightful story begs to be read aloud. Thanks to a cliff-hanger ending and a brand new mystery on the horizon, animal lovers will eagerly anticipate more Logan and Zoe adventures.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2010 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 5-8-A new arrival in small-town Xanadu, Wyoming, seventh-grader Logan spends more time than he'd like to thinking about his mother's mysterious disappearance. His life becomes exciting when he discovers a baby griffin under his bed. No bigger than a puppy, Squorp turns out to be an escapee from the Menagerie, a zoo filled with mythical creatures and run by his classmate Zoe and her family. Logan soon finds himself teamed up with Zoe and her merman friend, Blue, to find five other griffin runaways. As he helps track them down, the truth about his mother's secret life begins to surface. Meanwhile, members of SNAPA, the organization in charge of all menageries, will arrive soon for an inspection and if everything is not up to par the place will be shut down. Can the trio get the griffins back in time? Who really was Logan's mom? The characters are likable, unique, and well developed, and the narrative is filled with lively dialogue and humor. The creatures, including a pair of snooty unicorns and a charismatic but murderous kelpie, are delightful. The authors do a great job of creating an attention-grabbing magical world within the realistic setting. Readers who enjoy books like Brandon Mull's Fablehaven (Aladdin, 2007) will soak up the intermixing of mythological information and mystery. The first in a series, this page-turning fantasy will fly off library shelves.-Kira Moody, Whitmore Public Library, Salt Lake City, UT (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview