Cover image for Contaminated 2 : mercy mode
Title:
Contaminated 2 : mercy mode
Author:
Garner, Em, 1971- , author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Egmont USA, 2014.
Physical Description:
341 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"The Contamination that turns people into ultra-violent zombie-like creatures is abating, but now seventeen-year-old Velvet must hide from checkpoints for the disease, to prevent the government from imprisoning her"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
740 Lexile.
ISBN:
9781606843567
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Science Fiction/Fantasy
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Seventeen-year-old Velvet, her little sister, Opal their mom, who is recovering from the Contamination, and Velvet's sweet boyfriend, Dillon, are attempting to build a new life amid the rationing and regulations of the post-outbreak nation. But the outbreak isn't over: more people turning into "Connies," more madness erupting, more killings occurring. And what they are being told is not the truth; the truth is far darker and more threatening.

This gripping survival story is the second in the Contaminated series. Just right for fans of James Dashner, Carrie Ryan, and The Walking Dead.


Author Notes

Em Garner is the pseudonym for a NYT best-selling author of romances. The author of 50 books, she made her YA debut with this series. Em started writing as a child, originally about the scary things that hid under her bed. She never lost her taste for scary stories, or for fantasies with a dark twist.

Em loves the beach, where she often writes, but is afraid of sharks. She lives in Pennsylvania, where this series is set. The author lives in Lebanon, PA.


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-The Contamination hit as a result of a defective protein additive in a popular weight-loss water. By the time Velvet's mother became one of the "Connies," the government had learned to treat the sickness with an electro-shock collar connected directly to the brain. Connies then became docile enough to be returned to their families. In a moment of desperation as her mother's collar went into "Mercy Mode," an extreme electrical shock capable of killing the wearer, Velvet managed to remove it. Rather than the immediate death the government claimed would occur if the contraption was removed, her mother's condition miraculously improved. For several months, Velvet has been caring for her family in their old house well outside of town with her mother, little sister, a neighbor, and Dillion, her love interest in Contaminated (Egmont USA, 2013), whom she recently married to get better rations and medical supplies. While it has been difficult, they have been able to get by, but the fear caused by the recent outbreak may soon make it impossible. Garner continues her unique take on the very popular zombie story, focusing less on the horror of being attacked by mindless hordes of the undead and more on the homesteading tale of a small group just trying to survive. While the ending takes an unexpected and not necessarily beneficial turn into more common sci-fi territory, this book is a strong follow-up, keeps the pace active, and sets up a new direction for the series.-Ryan F. Paulsen, New Rochelle High School, NY (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.