Cover image for The case of the missing moonstone
Title:
The case of the missing moonstone
Author:
Stratford, Jordan, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Physical Description:
219 pages : illustrations, map ; 21 cm.
Summary:
"Imagines an alternate 1826 London, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
840 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.6 5.0 171879.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 5.5 8 Quiz: 65427.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780385754408

9780385754415
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein ) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude--but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada's first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency--a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it's no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.

Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.


Author Notes

JORDAN STRATFORD is a producer, author, and screenwriter. Stratford launched the idea for the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency series on Kickstarter, where the response was overwhelming enthusiasm.

Mr. Stratford lives on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and children and is hard at work on the next book in the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency series.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Stratford creates an alternate nineteenth-century London, peoples it with a number of historical figures, and changes those figures' ages and life stories to suit his narrative. Ada Byron, 11, and Mary Godwin, 14, start a detective agency in Victorian London. Ably assisted by their young acquaintance Charles and their tutor, Percy, the young ladies investigate the mystery of a stolen jewel and chase down the thief in a hot-air balloon. Although the stylized, black-and-white illustrations are pleasing, the detective-story plot is somewhat unconvincing, and the entire narrative is a bit mannered and top-heavy with eminent Victorians. Still, even readers unfamiliar with Ada Byron Lovelace, Mary Wollstonecraft Godwin Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, and Charles Dickens will enjoy the two protagonists. Ada is an entertainingly eccentric character, and Mary is a sympathetic, perceptive one. In the appended notes, Stratford comments on aspects of the historical period as well as eight people characterized or mentioned in the book. Readers intrigued by the young detectives can look forward to further volumes in the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency series.--Phelan, Carolyn Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

This smart and witty first book in the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency mystery series features celebrated figures Ada Lovelace, considered the world's first computer programmer, and Mary Shelley, credited with creating the science fiction genre, as young detectives-in-training. Although Stratford (who raised more than $90,000 on Kickstarter to publish the series, prior to its acquisition) admits he's taken liberties with some facts and dates, he vividly recreates the social and economic milieu of 1826 England through the girls' eyes. Lady Ada, 11, is an awkward but brilliant mathematician, while Mary, 14, is socially adept and loves the romantic, adventurous side of life. When the girls come across newspaper pieces about crime, they resolve form a "secret constabulary" to catch criminals. As they use quick thinking, book smarts, and social know-how to find a stolen gemstone with the help (willing and unwilling) of their tutor, Peebs (Percy Bysshe Shelley), and travelmate (a young Charles Dickens), they also navigate the difficult terrain of despair and injustice. Skilled b&w illustrations and comical narration and dialogue will charm readers thoroughly. Ages 8-12. Author's agent: Heather Schroder, Compass Talent Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 5-8-History meets mystery in this story in which the author reimagines the lives of Ada Byron and Mary Shelley as two girls who meet in 1826 London, agree to form a secret detective agency, and embark upon a series of adventures together. Ada (who will later become known as Lady Lovelace, often considered the world's first computer programmer) is a reclusive genius, lacking in social skills. Mary, who will one day become the author of the classic novel Frankenstein, is observant and a bit romantic. While the author admits to taking a few liberties with historical facts (for example, some of the characters were much further apart in age than are presented in the story), there are plenty of historical and scientific tidbits that may inspire readers to investigate the real-life figures as well as their discoveries and creations evolve. A good fit for Common Core curricula and a fun overall read, this is a winner.-Jessica Marie, Salem Public Library, OR (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.