Cover image for Cane and Abe
Title:
Cane and Abe
Author:
Grippando, James, 1958- , author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]

©2014
Physical Description:
356 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
Miami's top prosecutor becomes a prime suspect when his wife's disappearance may have a chilling connection to the vicious murders of beautiful women in the Florida Everglades. --
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780062295392
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Urban Fiction
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A spellbinding novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author James Grippando, in which Miami's top prosecutor becomes a prime suspect in his wife's disappearance, which may have a chilling connection to the woman he can't forget.

Unbelievable was the word for her. Samantha Vine was unbelievably beautiful. It was unbelievable that she'd married me. Even more unbelievable that she was gone . . .

Samantha died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife has helped him through the loss, but some say it was a step back to marry Angelina, a love from Abe's past. Abe doesn't want to hear it, and through the ups and downs, he's even managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office.

Then everything goes wrong.  A woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. The FBI is tracking a killer in South Florida they call "Cutter" because his brutal methods harken back to Florida's dark past, when machete-wielding men cut sugarcane by hand in the blazing sun.

But when the feds discover that Abe had a brief encounter with the victim after Samantha's death, and when Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire. Suspicion surrounds him. His closest friends, family, professional colleagues, and the media no longer trust his motives. Was Angelina right? Was their marriage not what they'd hoped for because he loved Samantha too much? Or was there another woman . . . and a husband with a dark side who simply wanted his new wife gone?


Author Notes

Author James Grippando was born in Antioch, Illinois in 1958. He spent one year at the University of Illinois before transferring to the University of Florida in Gainesville, where he received his B.A. with high honors and his law degree with honors. While in law school, he was executive editor of the University of Florida Law Review. He was practicing commercial litigation with the law firm of Steel Hector & Davis for 12 years before becoming a full-time writer. He wrote his first two novels while he was still working as a trial lawyer. His novels include the Jack Swyteck series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Here's another fine stand-alone from the author of the Jack Swyteck legal thrillers. Abe Beckham, a Florida assistant state's attorney, has a tangled history: he's married to Angelina, but before that, he was married to Samantha, who died; and before that, he was in a relationship with Angelina. Oh, and there's Tyla, an attorney Abe had something going with several years ago, and who has just been murdered, apparently not long after making several calls to Abe's cell phone (he says he never got the calls). And there's a serial killer, dubbed Cutter, who might be responsible for Tyla's death, although a disagreeable FBI agent is convinced Abe's behind the murder, just as she's convinced Abe's responsible for the sudden disappearance of Angelina. Grippando writes the heck out of this labyrinthine story, keeping us flipping the pages at a frantic pace, trying to figure out what's going on here. Abe is a very well-drawn character we're not quite sure whether we should like him or not and somehow Grippando manages to answer all of the story's questions without making the end of the book feel contrived. Very nicely done.--Pitt, David Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Abe Beckham, the narrator of much of this gripping but flawed stand-alone from bestseller Grippando (Need You Now), still mourns the death of his first wife, Samantha Vine. That's why Abe, senior trial counsel at the state attorney's office in Miami-Dade County, keeps close contact with Samantha's family. This closeness doesn't sit well with his second wife, Angelina, who wants him to cut all ties with the Vines. Abe complicates his professional life by monitoring the murder investigation of an old flame, Miami attorney Tyla Tomkins, whose mangled body was found in the Everglades. Is Tyla a victim of the machete-wielding serial killer known as Cutter? When Angelina disappears, FBI agent Victoria Santos wonders whether Abe was still romantically involved with Tyla. Grippando keeps the tension high with plausible twists, until the plot comes apart in a rushed ending. Agent: Richard Pine, Inkwell Management. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Representing the Office of the State Attorney for Miami-Dade County, Abe Beckham is called to a crime scene; the body of a woman had been found in the Everglades. The FBI suspects it is the fifth victim of a serial killer terrorizing south Florida who dumps his bodies in sugar cane fields. As Abe monitors this new case, he also juggles the complications of his family life. Losing his first wife to cancer, he has done his best to move on and has married a former girlfriend. However, Abe's close ties to his first wife's brother and father is straining his relationship with his second wife. The situation grows grim when Abe must disclose that he knew the victim; he becomes even more of a suspect when his wife disappears. Now Abe must find out what happened as the FBI watches his every move. Verdict Best-selling author and attorney Grippando, known for his "Jack Swyteck" series, has produced a solid, quick-paced stand-alone thriller. His incorporation of the appalling history of the sugar cane industry provides an integral backdrop. For readers who enjoy Greg Iles or Brad Meltzer.-Joy Gunn, Paseo Verde Lib., Henderson, NV (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.