Cover image for A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery
Title:
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery
Author:
McPherson, Catriona, 1965-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Minotaur Books, 2014.

©2013
Physical Description:
291 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the Borders town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "--
General Note:
"A Thomas Dunne Book."
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250053978
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie.
In A Deadly Measure of Brimstone , Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious-- and deadly--events.
The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel.
But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living.


Author Notes

CATRIONA MCPHERSON was born near Edinburgh. Dandy Gilver and The Proper Treatment of Bloodstains won the Sue Feder Memorial Award in 2012 and Dandy Gilver and An Unsuitable Day for A Murder won the Agatha for Best Historical Novel in the same year. The series won the Bruce Alexander Award in 2013 and 2014. Catriona lives in Davis, California, with her husband and two cats.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Series heroine Dandy Gilver runs a detective agency in Scotland in the 1920s. She also manages, almost as an afterthought, a comfortable household with a husband, two sons, and servants. This latest mystery, set in 1929, nicely combines both elements. The family comes down with bronchitis, pneumonia, and pleurisy, requiring plenty of ministering from Dandy, the only one not affected. At the same time, Dandy has been contacted by the family of an elderly woman who died under highly suspicious circumstances while visiting a health spa. Dandy packs off the family to the spa, the Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel, in Northhamptonshire, partly so they can recover but mostly to investigate what led to the woman's death (the ethics of Dandy entrusting her family's health to a dodgy establishment is one of the mysteries of this book). The details McPherson provides about the spa's treatments and intricate workings are fascinating. The subplot dealing with ghosts and mediums is a stretch, though. Dandy's first-person narration is intended to be funny, and sometimes it is, but it can also come across as forced. For fans of the series.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Set in 1929, McPherson's solid eighth Dandy Gilver mystery (after 2013's Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses) finds the British PI considering a stay at a medical facility for strength rebuilding purposes after she and other family members suffer a bout of flu. Coincidentally, prospective clients Herbert Addie and Mrs. James Bowie suspect that their mother, Enid, was murdered at just such a facility in the town of Moffat about a month earlier. Oddly, Enid died suddenly, despite being in overall good health, and the doctor who was treating her for an injured back didn't sign her death certificate. Dandy uses the new case as an excuse to bring her entourage with her to Moffat, where the local sergeant tells her that Enid reported being frightened by a ghost shortly before she died. The plucky lead compensates for some heavy-handed foreshadowing and a windup that isn't McPherson's strongest. Lisa Moylett, Coombs Moylett Literary Agency. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

In 1920s Perthshire, Scotland, Mrs. Dandelion (Dandy) Gilver runs a country home. Wife to Hugh, mother to Teddy and Donald, and mistress of a large household of servants, Dandy is still bored. Her menfolk fall victim to various illnesses, so Dandy decides to remove the family to the spa town of Moffat to drink the waters and indulge in the mineral wraps and cold salt rubs. But all is not right at the Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. The Laidlaw family members are at one another's throats, and a guest who checked into the spa has disappeared. Located near Gallow Hill, the spa is also frequently plagued by ghosts. VERDICT Fans of the period as well as such TV series as Downton Abbey and Upstairs, Downstairs will enjoy Dandy's latest adventure (after Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses), although the will-they, won't-they romance between policeman Alec Osborne and Dandy is wearing thin. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.