Cover image for The serpent's curse
Title:
The serpent's curse
Author:
Abbott, Tony, 1952- , author.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
485 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.
Summary:
As Wade, Darrell, Lily, and Becca continue their search for an ancient relic, Wade's mother is kidnapped by Galina Krause, leader of the present-day Teutonic Knights.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062194466
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Bestselling author Tony Abbott returns with the next full-length book in the Copernicus Legacy series, a globe-trotting adventure packed with more riddles, puzzles, and secret histories. The hunt for Copernicus's first relic sent Wade, Darrell, Lily, and Becca to the far reaches of the world and put them in serious danger. But they never imagined Sara Kaplan--Darrell and Wade's mother--would be kidnapped by the conniving Galina Krause. Now they must race the evil Teutonic Order to find the Serpens relic and rescue Sara before it's too late.

Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this epic series, which is filled with suspense and action.

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts


Author Notes

Tony Abbott was born in Cleveland, Ohio on January 7, 1952. He attended the University of Connecticut, majoring first in music, then psychology, and finally English. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in English literature. After that, he traveled to Europe before returning home and finding work in a variety of bookstores, a library and at an Internet book and magazine publisher.

His first published book, Danger Guys, was written while taking a writing class with children's author, Patricia Reilly Giff. Since then, he's written over 75 books for children ages 6 to 12, including The Secrets of Droon series, The Haunting of Derek Stone series, and The Time Surfers series. Firegirl won the Golden Kite Award for Fiction in 2007 and The Postcard won the Edgar Award for the Best Juvenile Mystery novel in 2009.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Still hot on the trail of the relics forming Copernicus' world-altering time machine, Wade, Becca, Lily, Darrell, and Roald continue their travels, breaking codes, solving clues, and evading the dangerous Order of Teutonic Knights. After a rendezvous in London with a Russian expert in ancient languages, the kids set out to Moscow, Siberia, and St. Petersburg, peeling back layers of secrets in order to uncover the hidden location of the two parts of the next relic on their list, a bejeweled serpent that comes to life when the pieces are joined. While following their leads, the kids and Wade's father also catch wind of the location of Darrell's mother, kidnapped by the order and held captive in a dangerous time machine. Though the breakneck pace and frenetic plot at times makes this installment in the Copernicus Legacy series feel overstuffed, the slow, intriguing reveals of enticing secrets about the order and, in particular, the mysterious origins of its leader will keep the pages flying and build ample anticipation for the next book. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Abbott's publishers are accelerating the momentum started with the series opener by adding a book tour and live relic hunt to the mix.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-6-Still reeling from their last adventure in The Forbidden Stone (HarperCollins, 2014) which ended only hours before, Wade, Darrell, Becca, and Lily are nearly killed by Galina and the evil Order. So begins another around-the-globe hunt for one of 12 mysterious relics that can reactivate a time-traveling astrolabe built by Nicolas Copernicus. But the relic is not the only valuable thing the group is searching for: they must find and rescue Darrell's mother, kidnapped by Galina's thugs. Codes and riddles point the way to the hidden relic, and though readers are unable to participate in solving the puzzles, they will have fun witnessing the characters use their complementary skills to work together and find the answers. The novel's challenge is its length: multiple plotlines and secondary characters are interesting but numerous enough to slow down the otherwise fast-paced narrative. Moderate violence (stabbing, shooting, poisoning, and explosions) contrasts with occasional juvenile phrases such as, "Wade had been giving Becca goo-goo eyes." and "you are being tremendously awesome". References to the companion novella, The Copernicus Archives: Wade and the Scorpion's Claw, (HarperCollins, 2014) whose events take place after the first novel and before this title, add another layer. Readers learn a bit more about each of the four young heroes in this second installment, but those wishing for more character development will want to read the novellas. Fans of the series will eagerly await the next entry.-Marybeth Kozikowski, Sachem Public Library, Holbrook, NY (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.