Cover image for Lark rising
Title:
Lark rising
Author:
Waugh, Sandra, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, [2014]
Physical Description:
372 pages : map ; 22 cm.
Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Lark sets out on a journey to help her village fight off monsters called Troths and learns she is the Guardian of Life, fated to recover a powerful amulet from the Breeders of Chaos.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
750 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780449817483

9780449817490
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.
 
"A beautifully realized world, a unique voice, and a compelling, action-packed story. This is a striking debut novel with a lovely folkloric flavor." --Juliet Marillier, author of Wildwood Dancing
 
Lark has foreseen two things--she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.
 
Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets--Life, Death, Dark, and Light--keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.


Author Notes

SANDRA WAUGH grew up in an old house full of crowded bookshelves, in walking distance of an old library that allowed her to drag home a sack of six books at a time. It goes without saying, then, that she fell in love with an old house in Litchfield County, Connecticut, because of its many bookshelves, and she lives there now with her husband, two sons, and a dog who snores. Loudly. Lark Rising is her first novel. For more information, reveries, and an author blog, visit sandrawaugh.com.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Sixteen-year-old Lark is blessed or cursed with the Sight. To avoid being overwhelmed with the emotions (love, fear, anger) of others, she lives with her cousin Evie and grandmother, both of whom are Healers, and tends to the garden and the animals. But when the evil Troths threaten to once again attack their village, Lark is chosen by lot to seek help from the Riders in the north. Learning that the Riders actually need her assistance as a Guardian to retrieve a stolen amulet, her own destiny rapidly unfurls. This romantic fantasy will quickly draw even reluctant readers into its beautifully rendered world, rich in setting and backstory, with inhabitants both fearsome and innocent. The character development is deep and the intricately plotted story line flows without a hitch with surprises both pleasant and troublesome along the way. Happily, there should be other novels to follow as the remaining three Guardians fulfill their own destinies.--Moore, Melissa Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

The village of Merith is about to be massacred by grisly beasts called the Troths, plunging 16-year-old Lark Carew into a quest to summon the legendary Riders to save her people. In Waugh's debut, first in the Guardians of Tarnec series, Lark discovers a secret kingdom and her rightful place as the Guardian of Life. The fantastical realm is depicted in vivid detail, simultaneously ethereal and concrete, and populated by both kindly and menacing characters to guide and torment Lark, making this novel a tantalizing glimpse of what is yet to come. Lark's "Sight" initially appears to be more burden than blessing, causing her physical illness and forcing her to relive the murder that brought a ghastly severed hand to her door. Over time, she learns to control her powers and communicate fully with the natural world, revealing a formidable heroine beneath her reserved and gentle demeanor. As Lark's story unfolds, her self-confidence becomes the key to unlocking her potential and overcoming her own uncertainty. As the king and others remind her, "Trust that you will know what to do." Ages 12-up. Agent: Jenny Bent, Bent Agency. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.