Cover image for Illusions of fate
Title:
Illusions of fate
Author:
White, Kiersten, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
278 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
An outcast since moving from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion, Jessamin meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn who introduces her to the secret world of Albion's nobility--a world of power, money, status, and magic--but Finn has a powerful enemy who only Jessamin can stop.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062135896
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from Kiersten White, #1 New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken.

"Illusions of Fate is an absolute delight--a magical, sparkling, dangerous world with witty repartee and a romance that will light your heart on fire. Kiersten White's best yet."--Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn, who introduces her to the secret world of Albion's nobility. It's a world that has everything Jessamin doesn't--power, money, status . . . and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, and the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess them. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits, can stop him.

Readers who love Libba Bray, Cassanda Clare, or Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell won't want to miss this captivating stand-alone novel.


Author Notes

Kiersten White is an author of fantasy books including And I Darken, Now I Rise, the Paranormalcy trilogy, Mind Games, Perfect Lies, The Chaos of Stars, and Illusions of Fate. She also co-wrote In the Shadows with Jim Di Bartolo.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Jessamin struggles to get a foothold in her adopted country of Albion. She works hard and studies hard, hoping to soon return to Melei, where she can help her people. But in this strange land with magical undercurrents, Jessamin is swept away by powerful people with even more powerful forces. When she first meets Finn, she is surprised that a nobleman would pay her any attention. His attraction turns dangerous when Finn's enemy, the evil Lord Downpike, sees threatening and controlling Jessamin as a way to keep hold of Finn. White's world of Albion is an enticing blend of Victorian sensibilities and scenery and dark magic. Jessamin, meanwhile, is a clever young woman with a strong sense of self, and she navigates an unfamiliar place, as well as social strata, without magic of her own, yet still keeps her head held high. The relationship between Finn and Jessamin is sometimes fraught but ultimately rewarding, and side characters are well drawn. Readers will eagerly await the next installment of this paranormal, romantic, and historical adventure. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Ever since Paranormalcy (2010), White has been a dependable best-seller, and the planned media outreach for this new series should help keep her there.--Booth, Heather Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

White (A Chaos of Stars) claims the influence of Jane Austen on her latest fantasy, but the hero, Finn, is less reminiscent of Mr. Darcy than of Dorothy Sayers's Lord Peter Wimsey-all nervy blond elegance. Like Wimsey, Finn has a nameless role to play in keeping the empire out of war (in this case, the magic-wielding nation of Albion). Finn falls in love at first sight, most inappropriately, with narrator Jessamin, an illegitimate "island rat" whose father is a professor in Albion and whose mother is a marriage-obsessed native of Melei, a colony. Jessamin has blackmailed her father to gain entrance to an exclusive school, but she works in a hotel to make ends meet, a situation that allows for riffs on A Little Princess as Finn-and Finn's enemies-inflict their attention and wealth on her. White's critique of colonialism can sit awkwardly on the adventure/romance plot-Jessamin makes long speeches about the oppression she experiences, but there are no special insights offered. Ideology aside, the characters make a believable and intriguing connection across their cultural divide. Ages 13-up. Agent: Michelle Wolfson, Wolfson Literary. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-Jessamin Olea earns her way into a boarding school in Albion where she is considered second class by the other students and referred to as "Island Rat" because she is from the island of Melie. She spends most of her time studying and alone until she meets Finn, a young lord who belongs to the nobility of Albion. This world is new to Jessamin-it has money, fancy dresses, tea parties, power, and magic. Readers will be intrigued by the mysterious birds that visit Jessamin as she learns more about Finn's world and the danger that surrounds him. Lord Downpike, one of Finn's enemies, is trying to do away with him and only Jessamin can stop Downpike's wrath. While the protagonist has no powers, she fortunately has good instincts and is about to help Finn. Jessamin is a strong, well-developed character to whom readers will relate; even readers who are not typically fans of the genre may be drawn into the narrative by the realistic voice of the main character. This well-written historical fantasy has romance, suspense, a fairy-tale feel, and a great ending that will leave readers cheering.-Karen Alexander, Lake Fenton High School, Linden, MI (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview