Cover image for The perilous sea
Title:
The perilous sea
Author:
Thomas, Sherry (Sherry M.)
Personal Author:
Edition:
First Edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
416 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"After returning to Eton College, Titus makes a shocking discovery in his mother's diary that causes him to question everything he believed about his and Iolanthe's Mission"--
Language:
English
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 6.6 16.0 172624.
ISBN:
9780062207326
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Iolanthe and Titus continue their mission to defeat the Bane in this striking sequel to The Burning Sky--perfect for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore--which Publishers Weekly called "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review and Kirkus Reviews said "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny--especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that throws into question everything he believed about their mission. Faced with this revelation, Iolanthe struggles to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother's prophecies--or forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.


Author Notes

Sherry Thomas is an American author, born in China in 1975. She writes contemporary and historical romance novels. Her work includes the series The Fitzhughs, Heart of Blade Duology, The London Trilogy, The Marsdens, and The Lady Sherlock Series. Two of her titles have won the RITA award, Not Quite a Husband in 2010, and His at Night in 2011. She also wrote a young adult fantasy series, The Elemental Trilogy.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

In this sequel to The Burning Sky (2013), Titus is forced to reconsider the signs that led him to Iolanthe, when he discovers another elemental mage that fulfills his mother's prophecy. After committing so totally to their dangerous plan and to each other, the revelation that Iolanthe may not be the chosen one is heartbreaking. Iolanthe still wishes to use her powers against the Bane, but Titus is afraid to diverge from his mother's visions. Thomas mixes her coexisting worlds Victorian England and a parallel magical Realm with skill, and the romance bubbles with witty banter and elaborate declarations of love. It's theatrical but satisfying.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Teen mages Iolanthe and Prince Titus continue the fight to overthrow the Bane and take back the Realm that began in The Burning Sky (HarperCollins, 2013). Though it's really more complicated than that, this second installment throws one plot twist after another at readers. Thomas moves easily from humorous repartee to darkly gripping action sequences, making for an enjoyable ride. At times, the multiple viewpoints and time lines can be cumbersome. The author makes up for this with creative storytelling and strong characters; Iolanthe and Titus have particularly good chemistry. Some clever subversions of traditional fantasy plotlines make this series a smart choice for thoughtful fantasy readers who like a complicated backstory.- Eliza Langhans, Hatfield Public Library, MA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.