Cover image for Made for you
Title:
Made for you
Author:
Marr, Melissa.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
358 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Southern small town darling Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital with the frightening ability to see through the eyes of the victims of a serial killer, and realizes that she, too, is a target of the depraved stalker"--

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover an attempt has been made on her life. But who in her sleepy little North Carolina town could have hit her with their car? And why? Before she can consider the question, she finds that she's awoken with a strange new skill: the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep her friends-- and themselves-- alive.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780062011190
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Eva Tilling wakes up in the hospital to discover she possesses a strange new skill--the ability to foresee people's deaths when they touch her. While she is recovering from her hit-and-run accident, Nate, an old flame, reappears, and the two must traverse their rocky past as they figure out how to use Eva's power to keep their friends--and each other--from falling into the hands of a killer.

This contemporary romantic suspense novel from five-time New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr earned widespread critical acclaim, with Kirkus Reviews calling it a "riveting whodunit that delivers a bouquet of teen romance, paranormal, and thriller." And BCCB declared, "Between the suspense, the horror, the romance, and the wit, this will have equal appeal for fans of Sarah Dessen and Rosemary Clement-Moore."

A stark departure from her fantasy settings, this Southern Gothic, racy thriller gives fans old and new chilling twists, unrequited obsession, and high-stakes romance.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Eva Tilling has a new talent: when people touch her, she sinks into a vision of how they will die. Her freaky skill manifests during her hospital recovery from a hit-and-run that was no accident. This twisted modern southern gothic tale unfolds through the multiple perspectives of her friends and the killer, who nicknames himself Judge. Judge's chapters are sickening with details of his God-driven obsession for Eva and his sexual fantasies that are enacted on successive victims as he kills Eva's friends and leaves symbolic flowers and carved words in their flesh as messages for Eva. Eva's childhood friend Nate, now a hunky lothario, is hired as a companion for Eva, and that relationship will delight the romantics who read this paranormal romance thriller. The rest of the page flipping will be to discover the identity of the killer and to watch Eva ­foolishly go after him, making choices typical of a teen horror flick. Despite the page count, mysteries remain, but Marr's fans will want to read this. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: By now, purchasers know that they will need multiple copies of anything new from the New York Times best-selling author to satisfy fans.--Dobrez, Cindy Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Eva Tilling is queen bee among an elite group of high school friends in tiny Jessup, North Carolina. When she's the victim of a hit-and-run, she struggles to remember what happened. Thanks to alternate narration, readers know what Eva doesn't: it wasn't an accident. As Eva recovers in the hospital, Judge, who confesses that's not his actual name, but his soul name, tells his side of the story. His logic for hitting her is hard to follow and incredibly disturbing. He feels he is saving her, teaching her lessons, and making offerings for her. His crimes and logic are tied to bizarre notions of fate, love, purity, status, and sex. Eva grows confident that someone is after her and her group of friends when she learns that, post-accident, she can foresee peoples' deaths. As she tries to figure out who the killer is and save her friends, Judge grows ever-closer to Eva, certain that it is God's plan for them to be together. Mixing elements of realism, paranormal, mystery, thriller, and romance, the story struggles to find its footing. The crimes committed are gruesome and Judge's "love" for Eva is chilling. The large cast of interchangable characters clutters up a thin plot that's already flailing from too many genre conventions. While it will certainly appeal to Marr's dedicated fans and those who like dark stories where horrific things happen, teens may find themselves skimming this overlong, slow-to-develop story simply to find out Judge's identity.-Amanda MacGregor, formerly at Apollo High School Library, St. Cloud, MN (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.