Cover image for Dead zone
Title:
Dead zone
Author:
Wells, Robison E.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
373 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"America faces invasion by a hostile nation, and Aubrey, Jack, and a group of other superpowered teenagers are its only defense"--
General Note:
Sequel to: Blackout.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062275028
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Audubon Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clarence Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Grand Island Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Hamburg Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Kenmore Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Homeland meets Marie Lu's Legend in the explosive sequel to Blackout, which #1 New York Times bestselling author Ally Condie called "a thrilling combination of Wells's trademark twists and terror. Fantastic!"

It began with a virus. Then a series of attacks erupted across the nation. Now America is at war--and a handful of teens with impossible powers are its only defense.

In Dead Zone, Robison Wells delivers his most nail-bitingly tense read yet--and an electrifying conclusion to a two-book series that's perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and I Am Number Four.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

The Russians are invading the U.S., and the military on both sides are using lambdas teens with superpowers such as invisibility, flight, enhanced senses, or telepathy to augment their fighting forces. A small American squad, including Jack and Aubrey from Blackout (2013), are working to discover the EMP weapon that the Russians have been using to disable American defenses. Little do they know that the weapon is in fact another teen, just like them. The story begins right in the midst of the action, and though Wells fills in backstory later in lengthy expository chunks, readers new to the series should start at the beginning.--Willey, Paula Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-In this sequel to Blackout (HarperCollins, 2013), the Russians have taken Alaska back and have moved on to Seattle, using a mysterious device that deactivates any electrical or mechanical object from jets to computers to wristwatches. Aubrey and Jack-along with a cohort of other teens with superpowers-have completed their semi-voluntary military training and are deployed on their first missions. Aubrey, Jack, and a small team of lambdas whose abilities complement one another's, making them ideal for discovering the secrets of the device, are sent to work with a team of Green Berets, but not everyone seems to be as committed as they are, and Aubrey struggles with her role in the death that accompanies war. While the previous entry followed American teens and Russian terrorists, Dead Zone focuses on Aubrey and Jack, with chapters from other characters' points of view revealing information the protagonists do not have, piling on the tension as the teens are surrounded by dangers known and unknown to them. The ethical issues here-what it means to be a soldier but to have one's own moral code-are still only given cursory treatment, but Wells explores more extensively the interplay between the lambdas' powers and what they're capable of as a team. A solid duology for teens who like their sci-fi heavy on action but light on backstory and social commentary.-Gretchen Kolderup, New York Public Library (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview