Cover image for Blackbird
Carey, Anna.
Personal Author:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
249 pages ; 22 cm
"A teenage girl wakes up on the Los Angeles subway tracks with no memory of who she is or how she got there. One thing she does know is that people are trying to kill her, and she must race to uncover her past and outwit her hunters before it's too late"--
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.8 8.0 172157.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Niagara Branch Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult

On Order



From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is--and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.

Things I Know Are True:

I am in Los Angeles I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station I am a teenage girl I have long black hair I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198 People are trying to kill me

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Carey's latest is a high-concept thriller: a girl with no memory is hunted through L.A. by a shadowy organization, and to survive, she must discover who she is and what they want. The narrative also has a hook: the story is told in second person, so it is you who wakes up pinned under a subway train with no idea how you got there. This nameless you adopts the nickname Sunny, meets a suspiciously helpful boy named Ben, and is harried at every turn by strangers intent on killing her. Carey's atypical narrator works well in generating immediacy, a suspenseful mystery, and a frenetic pace but fares less well in the gradual unveiling of the answers, as Carey employs other viewpoints to flesh out the picture. This story starts strong with high stakes and propulsive action, but it does lose some steam as repetitive chase and escape scenes lead to minimal payoff. When the smoke clears, there isn't much for readers to hang on to, and the abrupt ending leaves the bulk of the story for the next volume.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2014 Booklist

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Fast-paced second-person narration places readers squarely in the head of an amnesiac teen girl who only knows that she has a blackbird tattoo on her wrist and that someone is trying to kill her. Quickly adopting the nickname Sunny, the main character soon finds herself framed for theft. Not trusting the police, she manages to find sanctuary among a group of wealthy Los Angeles teens. Romantic tension builds between the protagonist and Ben, her rescuer. Sunny soon discovers abilities she didn't know she had: being able to dodge assassin's bullets and also excelling in close hand-to-hand combat when cornered by pursuers. Tantalizing flashes of memories, along with clues from her assailants, reveal that Sunny is a family-less teen runaway who depended on a handsome friend to survive the rigors of being hunted by the jaded elite. Plenty of plot twists will leave readers guessing as to who is trustworthy. Inspired by Richard Connell's classic short story, "The Most Dangerous Game," the novel draws to a satisfying close but leaves plenty of room for a sequel.-Madigan McGillicuddy, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library, Atlanta, GA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Google Preview