Cover image for The walk on
Title:
The walk on
Author:
Feinstein, John.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First Edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2014]
Physical Description:
359 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
After moving to a new town his freshman year in high school, Alex Myers is happy to win a spot on the varsity team as a quarterback but must deal with idea of not playing for two years since the first-string quarterback is not only a local hero, he is also the son of the corrupt head coach.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
Ages 10-up.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.2 13.0 169599.
ISBN:
9780385753463

9780385753470

9780385753494
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Alex Myers is a triple-threat athlete great at football, basketball, and baseball. But he'll have to fight for a spot on the varsity team. Alex is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it's clear that that position is very much filled by the coach's son, Matt. Alex has the better arm, but Matt has more experience and the coach's loyalty. Alex finally gets a chance to show what he can do when Matt is injured, and he helps win a key game to keep the Lions' bid for the state championship alive. But just when his star is rising, Alex gets blindsided the state has started drug testing, and Alex's test comes back positive for steroids. Alex knows that's not right. But he doesn't know if it's a mistake or if someone wants to make sure he can't play. . . . John Feinstein has been praised as the best writer of sports books in America today ( The Boston Globe ), and this first installment in the Triple Threat series is his most thrilling and suspenseful novel yet. Fans of Mike Lupica, Tim Green, and Paul Volponi will want to check out The Walk-On ."


Author Notes

John Feinstein was born in New York City on July 28, 1956. He graduated from Duke University. He is a sportswriter, author, and sports commentator. He was on the staff at the Washington Post and wrote for Sports Illustrated. He is the author of several books including A Season on the Brink, Where Nobody Knows Your Name, A Good Walk Spoiled, and The Legends Club: Dean Smith, Mike Krzyzewski, Jim Valvano, and the Story of an Epic College Basketball Rivalry.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Alex Myers, 14, is the new kid at his suburban Philadelphia high school. Knowing that he has a great arm, he tries out for the football team, but the quarterback position is already taken by the coach's son, Matt. So it's third string for Alex, despite his talent, until, in Friday Night Lights fashion, Matt is injured and Alex must step up. Although this follows a familiar script, Feinstein, as usual, does an excellent job with the particulars. Not only is the sports action well recounted, there is plenty about Alex's personal story to keep less fervent fans involved: his parents' separation, his interest in the school's flirty sports reporter, and the support he gets from unexpected sources like Matt. A surprise twist, which might keep Alex off the field, seems a bit contrived but makes for an exciting ending. Like Roy Tucker in John R. Tunis' classic The Kid from Tomkinsville series, Alex Meyer can play a host of sports. With football season over, can basketball be far behind?--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Freshman Alex Myers believes he's destined for gridiron greatness, graced with an unnaturally strong and accurate throwing arm. But when his parents' divorce means starting school in a new town, he learns the quarterback position is already taken--by the coach's son. The tyrannical head coach wants to win, but not at the expense of his son's playing time. This first installment in the Triple Threat series follows roughly the same formula as Feinstein's Sports Beat mysteries: lots of play-by-play action, sensational plot developments, and an attractive, whip-smart, sports-crazy romantic interest for Alex. Feinstein skillfully captures the mania that surrounds high school football, but does so uncritically, making it easy to see how high school athletics can become breeding grounds for entitlement. Though Alex's chances of getting to play are never in doubt, his path--injury, fake injury, doping--takes some highly improbable routes. Fans of sports fiction won't care about that, but an ending that leaves the outcome of the Big Game hanging might make them impatient for resolution, presumably coming in the next book. Ages 10--up. Agent: Esther Newberg, ICM. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 5-8-Feinstein's first book in the series introduces Alex Myers to listeners and to Chester Heights football. Though he has what is obviously the strongest arm on the team, Alex must fight for recognition, respect, and playing time. The head coach's son, fairly or not, is firmly in place as the starting quarterback. The shocking results of mandatory drug testing before the playoffs and a go-get-'em school newspaper staff throw the team off balance with questions, accusations, and intrigue. Though read with feeling and appropriate enthusiasm by the author, his modulation is a bit strong and his voice somewhat harsh, considering the age of most of the characters. A younger voice may have been more relatable. Feinstein varies his voice for different characters, which will help listeners keep the generic names straight. Full of refreshingly decent high school students, first crushes, a dose of dating drama, and a cliff-hanger ending, The Walk On will interest even non-football fans, as long as they can hang on through all the play-by-play action.-Jane Newschwander, Fluvanna County Public Schools, VA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.