Cover image for The bodies we wear
Title:
The bodies we wear
Author:
Roberts, Jeyn.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2014]

©2014
Physical Description:
353 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
After a powerful new drug causes havoc and deadly addiction, seventeen-year-old Faye trains to take revenge on those who took her future and murdered the boy she loved.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
HL 600 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780385754125

9780385754101
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Audubon Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Central Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Clarence Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Clearfield Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
East Aurora Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction New Materials
Searching...
Grand Island Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Hamburg Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Lancaster Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Science Fiction/Fantasy
Searching...
Orchard Park Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend's death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman.
 
Heam: It's the hottest drug around. Users are able to see Heaven--a place so beautiful, so indescribably serene, many people never want to come back. And some don't, like Faye's best friend, Christian. But when Faye was forced to take Heam, she didn't see Heaven; she saw Hell. And now she spends her nights training to take revenge on the men who destroyed her future and murdered Christian. When a mysterious young man named Chael appears, Faye's plans suddenly get a lot more complicated.
 
Love and Death. Will Faye overcome her desires, or will her quest for revenge consume her?


Author Notes

Jeyn Roberts is the author of the acclaimed novels Dark Inside and Rage Within. Born in Saskatchewan, she graduated from the University of British Columbia with a degree in writing and psychology and received her MA from the prestigious creative writing graduate course at Bath Spa University. She lives in Vancouver, Canada.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Bitterness, sorrow, and hate. That's been the sum total of Faye's existence since the age of 11, when she and her friend Christian were dosed with the illegal addictive drug Heam by vindictive dealers. Heam, short for Heaven's Dream, delivers an unprecedented high it kills its users, gives them a vision of the afterlife, and then, usually, it resuscitates them. Faye woke up with a lifelong psychological addiction to the drug and the visible scars of an overdose survivor. But Christian didn't wake up at all. Heam users are stigmatized, even abandoned, and Faye considers herself lucky that Gazer, an ex-cop, adopted her after she was thrown out by her mother. Now in high school, Faye is obsessed with killing the men who destroyed her life and murdered Christian until a handsome boy who knows too much about her appears from the shadows. Faye's confusion about blame and fate slow down this action-heavy thriller, but the noir-like setting and characters will satisfy.--Willey, Paula Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-An intriguing but faulty exploration of addiction set against the backdrop of a not-so-distant future. Forced to overdose on Heam-a synthetic drug that offers users a glimpse of heaven-to pay off her father's debts when she was 11, 16-year-old Faye is bent on making her attackers pay for their crimes, especially the death of her best friend Christian, who tried to defend her that fateful day. Adopted and trained by a former cop with secrets of his own, the teen is treated like a pariah and must follow stringent rules at her private school because of the inherent prejudice against all Heam users. Permanently addicted to the drug, Faye fights off the urge to get high as she hunts down the hoodlums responsible for her tortured existence. A mysterious stranger named Chael, who seems to know her better than she knows herself, and a new friend at school, have given her hope for a possible future without guilt and loneliness. The interesting premise and initial strong world-building, including heavy ruminations on the existence of heaven and hell, gives way to inconsistent characterization, gaping plot holes, and lengthy preachy monologues on revenge and the difference between good and evil in this haphazard YA novel. The tepid romance and the often cringe-worthy dialogue will leave readers uninspired and unsatisfied.-Shelley Diaz, School Library Journal (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview