Cover image for One hundred names
Title:
One hundred names
Author:
Ahern, Cecelia, 1981-
Personal Author:
Edition:
1st William Morrow pbk. ed.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : William Morrow, 2014.
Physical Description:
471 pages, 10 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"Scandal has derailed Journalist Kitty Logan's career, a setback that is soon compounded by an even more devastating loss. Constance, the woman who taught Kitty everything she knew, is dying. At her mentor's bedside, Kitty asks her, "What is the one story you always wanted to write?" The answer lies in a single sheet of paper buried in Constance's office--a list of 100 names--with no notes or explanation. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late. Determined to unlock the mystery and rebuild her own shaky confidence, Kitty throws herself into the investigation, using her skills and savvy to track down each of the names on the list and uncover their connection. Meeting these ordinary people and learning their stories, Kitty begins to piece together an unexpected portrait of Constance's life...and starts to understand her own."-P. [4] of cover.
General Note:
Originally published: Great Britain : HarperCollins Publishers, 2012.

Includes P.S. section: About the author, About the book, Read on.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062248633
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Internationally bestselling author Cecelia Ahern's One Hundred Names is the story of secrets, second chances, and the hidden connections that unite our lives--a universal tale that will grip you with its emotional power and mesmerize you with its magic.

Scandal has derailed Journalist Kitty Logan's career, a setback that is soon compounded by an even more devastating loss. Constance, the woman who taught Kitty everything she knew, is dying. At her mentor's bedside, Kitty asks her--what is the one story she always wanted to write?

The answer lies in a single sheet of paper buried in Constance's office--a list of 100 names--with no notes or explanation. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late.

Determined to unlock the mystery and rebuild her own shaky confidence, Kitty throws herself into the investigation, using her skills and savvy to track down each of the names on the list and uncover their connection. Meeting these ordinary people and learning their stories, Kitty begins to piece together an unexpected portrait of Constance's life. . . and starts to understand her own.


Author Notes

Cecelia Ahern was born on September 30, 1981 in Dublin, Ireland. She received a degree in journalism and media communications from Griffith College Dublin. She wrote her first novel PS, I Love You at the age of 21. This novel was made into a movie starring Hilary Swank. Some of her other novels include If You Could See Me Now, A Place Called Here, There's No Place Like Here, and Thanks for the Memories. She won the 2005 Irish Post Award for Literature and a 2005 Corine Award for Where Rainbows End. She is also the co-creator and producer of the television show Samantha Who?

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Ahern's (The Time of My Life, 2013) latest is a redemption tale centered on a reporter who has suffered a startling fall from grace. Ambitious young journalist Kitty Logan made the mistake of believing two women who claimed they were seduced in their teens by a handsome high-school teacher, and ruins the man's life. Disgraced after the truth comes to light, Kitty loses her television job. The new editor at the magazine where Kitty got her start wants to let her go, too, but Kitty manages to get a reprieve when she comes up with the perfect tribute for her recently deceased mentor, Constance, who founded the magazine and gave Kitty her big break. Kitty tackles her assignment with gusto, tracking down 100 people on a list Constance left behind and searching for the link that connects them, including a lovelorn hairdresser, a feisty octogenarian, and a grieving father. Though none of them know Constance, or each other, Kitty manages to draw out their unique stories. This heartwarming tale won't disappoint Ahern's many fans.--Huntley, Kristine Copyright 2014 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Irish journalist Kitty Logan scrambles to save her job at a popular magazine as she recovers from a double whammy of loss. After being let go from her television gig because of her part in a libelous story that ruined a man's reputation, she suffered the death of her mentor Constance, founder of the magazine that is Kitty's remaining employer. The scandal has severely tarnished her professional reputation, and Kitty is given one last chance to develop an unexplained story idea left behind by Constance. A list of 100 names, with no contact information and no apparent connection, is all she has to work with. As Kitty races against her deadline to track down the people on the list and determine how they are linked, she slowly begins to regain her confidence. Although a concluding scene bringing together all the people Kitty has found is slightly implausible and saccharine, there is a satisfying and cheering resolution to the mystery of how the names are tied together. -VERDICT A sweet read with humorous language, charming characters, a touch of romance, and just the right amount of mystery. For fans of Sarah Jio, Jill Mansell, or Sophie Kinsella.-Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.