Cover image for The four dragons : clearing the meridians and awakening the spine in Nei Gong
The four dragons : clearing the meridians and awakening the spine in Nei Gong
Mitchell, Damo.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
London ; Philadelphia : Singing Dragon, 2014.
Physical Description:
254 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
General Note:
Includes index.
An introduction to Dao Yin and health -- The Jing body -- The nature of pathogens -- Dao Yin principles -- Beginning Dao Yin : the four walks -- Intermediate practice : the four sequences -- Advanced practice : enter the dragon -- Moving into Nei Dan.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
RA781.85 .M58 2014 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
RA781.85 .M58 2014 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Within the context of a larger discussion of Dao Yin, Damo Mitchell teaches and explains the Dragon Dao Yin exercises, a set of four short sequences designed to work with the subtle energies of the spine and lead pathogenic energies out of the body.

More 'Yang' in nature than Qi Gong, Dao Yin focuses on outwards movements and strong internal cleansing. The book highlights this important distinction and covers the theory, history and development of Dao Yin exercises, as well as the relationship between Chinese medical theory and Dao Yin training. One chapter is devoted to problems related to stagnation and the flow of Qi, and explains the different causes and forms of stagnation. Later chapters look at breathing patterns and the extension of Yi, opening the joints, and rotating the bones and spine. Damo Mitchell also discusses stillness as the source of movement, the philosophical significance of the Dragon and the pearl, and the means of hardwiring Dao Yin exercises into the energetic body. Central to the discussion is the concept of the spine, and how to wake it up.

For the first time in the English language, the Dragon exercises - Awakening, Swimming, Soaring and Drunken - are described in detail, with photographs and step-by-step instructions on each of the exercises as individual therapeutic exercises and as a form.

Author Notes

Damo Mitchell has studied the martial, medical and spiritual arts of Asia since the age of four. He is Technical Director of the Lotus Nei Gong School of Daoist Arts and teaches Nei Gong in the UK, Sweden and the USA. He is the author of Heavenly Streams and Daoist Nei Gong, also published by Singing Dragon.

Table of Contents

Dr Ole Saether
Forewordp. 9
Acknowledgementsp. 11
Disclaimerp. 13
Notes on the Textp. 15
Prefacep. 17
1 An Introduction to Dao Yin and Healthp. 21
2 The Jing Bodyp. 39
3 The Nature of Pathogensp. 67
4 Dao Yin Principlesp. 101
5 Beginning Dao Yin: The Four Walksp. 131
6 Intermediate Practice: The Four Sequencesp. 151
7 Advanced Practice: Enter the Dragonp. 199
8 Moving into Nei Danp. 221
About the Authorp. 239
Glossary of Pinyin Termsp. 241
Appendix: Meridian Points Referred to in the Bookp. 247
Indexp. 249