Cover image for To everything a season
Title:
To everything a season
Author:
Snelling, Lauraine, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minnesota : Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, [2014]
Physical Description:
342 pages : illustration ; 23 cm.
Summary:
In the first decade of the twentieth century, Miriam is in Blessing, North Dakota to get practical training to become an accredited nurse. She's been promised a position in the Chicago women's hospital that will enable her to support her siblings and her ailing mother. Although eager to return to her family, Miriam is surprised to find how much she enjoys the small town of Blessing. And her growing attachment to Trygve soon has her questioning a future she always considered set in stone"--Amazon.com.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780764212185

9780764211041
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Christian
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Beloved Author Lauraine Snelling Returns Again to Her Popular Red River Valley Setting
Trygve Knutson is devoted to his family and his community. With his job on the construction crew, he is helping to build a future for the North Dakota town of Blessing. Though he loves his home, he sometimes dreams of other horizons--especially since meeting Miriam Hastings.
Miriam is in Blessing to get practical training to become an accredited nurse. She's been promised a position in the Chicago women's hospital that will enable her to support her siblings and her ailing mother. Although eager to return to her family, Miriam is surprised to find how much she enjoys the small town of Blessing. And her growing attachment to Trygve soon has her questioning a future she always considered set in stone.
When a family emergency calls Miriam home sooner than planned, will she find a way to return? If not, will it mean losing Trygve--and her chance at love--for good?


Author Notes

Lauraine Snelling began her career writing children's books. Her first book, Tragedy on the Toutle, was published in 1982. She wrote the High Hurdles series and The Golden Filly series before turning her focus to inspirational romances for adults. Her works include the Red River of the North family saga, Return to Red River trilogy the Daughters of Blessing series, and the Home to Blessing series. She won the Silver Angel award for An Untamed Land, the Romance Writers of American Golden Heart for Song of Laughter, and the 2014 Romantic Times Career Achievement award for Inspirational Fiction.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* The exciting first novel in Snelling's Song of Blessing series is set in 1905 in the growing Great Plains town of Blessing, North Dakota, and the myriad plot lines focus on members of the Bjorklund family, primarily Dr. Astrid Bjorklund and her mother, Ingeborg. From the capture of a bank robber to religious dissension among community members, the Bjorklund women soon realize that the peace in their blossoming community cannot be sheltered forever. Challenged to rely on God's guidance at each turn, Astrid and Ingeborg turn to their fervent commitment to Christian scripture and prayer as they care for their families and help strengthen the community they love. Snelling writes with her trademark richness, and her upright characters, intriguing stories, and vivid settings create a blissfully immersive reading experience. Norwegian language and other vernacular elements are seamlessly woven into the narrative, providing deep cultural authenticity. This symphony of immigrant farm-town life in the upper Midwest is so masterfully directed by Snelling, readers will be eager for the next novel about the good people of Blessing.--Campos, Kate Copyright 2014 Booklist


Library Journal Review

The town of Blessing, ND, in 1905 is rich with immigrants and expanding daily. The small town's hospital is overcrowded and only has two female doctors to run it. Astrid and Elizabeth welcome the help from New York nursing students, including Miriam, who is devastated because she left her ailing mother and siblings to study so far away. Sent to meet the train that will deliver the nursing students, Trygve, a former well driller who has taken a construction job at home in Blessing, cannot take his eyes off Miriam. As the story unfolds, it offers glimpses into the many intertwined lives in this quiet town. VERDICT Snelling ("Red River Valley" series) returns to the setting of her previous books in this series opener. While transitions among chapters are a bit rough, fans of the author will enjoy getting to know the secondary characters who are as well developed as the protagonists. A sweet story for fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Tracie Peterson.-Shondra Brown, Wakarusa P.L., IN (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.