Cover image for Sometimes the wolf
Title:
Sometimes the wolf
Author:
Waite, Urban, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublisher, [2014]
Physical Description:
277 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"Sheriff Patrick Drake tried to lead an upstanding life and maintain some financial stability until his wife passed away. He did okay for a while, singlehandedly raising his family in a small mountain town. Then he was hit with money troubles, fell in with some unsavory men, and ended up convicted of one of the biggest crimes in local history. Twelve years later Patrick is on parole under the watchful eye of his son Bobby, who just happens to be a deputy sheriff in his father's old department"--Amazon.com.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062216915
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction-New 7-Day Item New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Set in the Pacific Northwest, a spellbinding story of family, violence, and unintended consequences that showcases the searing prose, soulful characters, and vivid sense of place of an acclaimed writer in the tradition of Cormac McCarthy, Dennis Lehane, and Elmore Leonard.

Sheriff Patrick Drake tried to lead an upstanding life and maintain some financial stability until his wife passed away. He did okay for a while, singlehandedly raising his family in a small mountain town. Then he was hit with money troubles, fell in with some unsavory men, and ended up convicted of one of the biggest crimes in local history.

Twelve years later Patrick is on parole under the watchful eye of his son Bobby, who just happens to be a deputy sheriff in his father's old department. Bobby hasn't had it easy, either. He's carried the weight of his father's guilt, forsaking his own dreams, and put off the knowledge that his own marriage could be stronger and more hopeful. Yet no matter how much distance he's tried to put between himself, his father, his grandfather, and the past, small town minds can have very long memories.

But trouble isn't done with the Drakes--and a terrifying threat boils up from Patrick's old life. And this time, no one will be spared. . . .


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Silver Lake, Washington, deputy sheriff Bobby Drake was introduced in Waite's outstanding debut, The Terror of Living (2011), in which Drake tracked a good-hearted marijuana smuggler whom he sees as similar to his own father, Patrick, a former sheriff in prison for drug dealing. Here we learn more of the tangled relationship between Bobby, Patrick, and Patrick's father, Morgan. Patrick has been released from prison, and he is living with Bobby and Bobby's wife, Sheri. An uneasy truce exists between Bobby and his father and between Bobby and his wife, but unhealed wounds continue to fester. Other, more tangible wounds are about to be inflicted with the arrival of two ex-cons eager to claim their share of drug money supposedly hidden by Patrick before his incarceration. The action jumps between all the Drakes and the very bad bad guys, intercut with Bobby's tracking of a lone wolf spotted in the Cascade Mountains. The symbolism of the wolf seems a bit labored, but Waite's ability to generate suspense while exploring the subtlest of human emotions and interactions remains remarkable. It's not uncommon for novels set in the contemporary West to find humanity in the interplay between the stiff-jawed determination of rugged individualists and their suppressed vulnerability, but Waite goes even further. His characters are determined, yes, but they are more than vulnerable; their lives are suffused with guilt and disappointment, hope for something better that never comes, and a desire for relief that always seemed just beyond. It's a rare thing to balance a thriller plot on characters with such stooped shoulders, but Waite manages the feat with surprising dexterity. Another emotionally rich novel from a very special writer.--Ott, Bill Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

At the start of this riveting mystery set in the Pacific Northwest from Waite (The Carrion Birds), Patrick Drake, a former sheriff turned drug smuggler, leaves prison on parole. Patrick's son, Deputy Bobby Drake, whose marriage is already strained, reluctantly takes his father into his home. Patrick's past criminal activities force Bobby, whose life is generally in shambles, to figure out whether to trust Patrick and whether he can overcome his deep anger at his father. Meanwhile, Bobby participates in a rescue mission to find and save the life of the first wolf to be seen in the area for 50 years before it's killed by ranchers worried about their livestock. Like the wolf, Patrick, too, is being hunted. Whether this threat will be the ruin of Bobby's life provides the foundation for an engrossing, adventure-packed ride. Agent: Nat Sobel, Sobel Weber Associates. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Starred Review. Bobby Drake, a deputy sheriff in the small town of Silver Lake, WA, never wanted to be a lawman. A promising basketball player, he won a scholarship to a large university. But Bobby's father, Patrick, who was sheriff at the time, suffered money woes after his wife's death, and chose to run drugs across the U.S.-Canada border. When Patrick was caught and sent to prison, Bobby quit school and came back to Silver Lake to clean up his father's mess and restore the family name. Now it's 12 years later, and Patrick is getting out of prison. Bobby decides to let him stay with him and his wife, Sheri. Unfortunately, prison mates of Patrick have escaped and plan to get the money they know he has stowed away. Soon, Bobby, Sheri, and Patrick are all trying to just stay alive as the lies of the past unfold. VERDICT Waite (The Terror of Living) weaves a gripping tale of family intrigue, betrayal, lies, deception, kidnapping, murder, and even forgiveness. The story flows faster as the pace of action increases. Highly recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane and Elmore Leonard and gritty thrillers in general. [See Prepub Alert, 4/14/14.]-Jason L. Steagall, Elkhorn Lib., Gateway Technical Coll., WI (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.