Cover image for First team
Title:
First team
Author:
Green, Tim, 1963-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Harper, an Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]

©2014
Physical Description:
327 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"The companion novel to New Kid, where Brock is in another new town after being on the run with his dad again, and this time, he joins the football team"--
Language:
English
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.5 9.0 170126.
ISBN:
9780062208750
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Audubon Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Boston Free Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Clarence Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Eden Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Grand Island Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Hamburg Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lancaster Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Newstead Library J FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green's companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But the coaches have plans of their own, especially for the kids from the wrong side of the tracks, which is exactly where Brock now lives.

As Brock is trying to fit in, his father's past is catching up to him--and one chance meeting causes everything to come crashing down. Will Brock finally be able to navigate his new life, or will his past force him back on the run?


Author Notes

Timothy Green was born in Liverpool, New York on December 16, 1963. He received a degree in English from Syracuse University in 1986. He was the Atlanta Falcons' first-round draft pick in 1986 and played for them through 1993. In 2002, he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. He graduated from Syracuse University College of Law in 1994 and began writing books for adults including The Dark Side of the Game, False Convictions, and A Man and His Mother: An Adopted Son's Search. He also writes children's books including Football Genius, Baseball Great, The Big Time, and Unstoppable. He has served as a commentator for the NFL on Fox.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Kicking off with a high-intensity car chase, Green's latest stars 12-year-old Brock Barrette and his dad, who are once more on the run due to secrets from his father's CIA past. They find refuge in Calhoun, Ohio, a middle-of-nowhere town where Brock's father promises they can build a normal life. Eager to fit in, Brock knows that Calhoun is a football town and trades in his baseball glove for some pads and a desire to become a first-team quarterback. Town politics are heavily entwined with the sport, and Brock faces bullying from a coach and teammates for being a Flatty (from the wrong side of town). Not everyone has it out for Brock; a new friend and the pretty girl from the library help Brock both on and off the field, though when shadows from the past resurface, Brock's new life is threatened in unexpected ways. This story of friendship, fresh starts, and belonging has appeal that continues far past the end zone.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2014 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 5-8-Picking up right where New Kid (HarperCollins, 2014) left off, the shadowy "bad guys" are chasing Brock and his dad out of town. Another vehicle  blocks their escape route and rams them down the side of an embankment. They not only escape unhurt, but also manage to evade the bullets being shot at them. Brock's dad stops their slog through the woods in the pouring rain to check his GPS on his cell phone.  They are conveniently close to the runway where the man has parked an airplane. That's when Brock learns that his dad knows how to fly and isn't afraid to play a game of chicken with their assailants, who may be Russians or the "agency." There's plenty of action here, only it's not quite adrenaline-inducing because, while there is menace, there is no bite. The unidentified pursuers are just too inept and Brock's dad is just too lucky. The contrivances become increasingly difficult to believe and are not relegated to the espionage. Readers are expected to believe that the pitching prodigy is also a football prodigy, a quarterback no less. The mentor is the high-school star quarterback son of his dad's love interest. The issue of classism in the football-obsessed town they settle in would be interesting if the coaches were not cardboard stereotypes. A bewildering twist at the end may portend a third book.-Brenda Kahn, Tenakill Middle School, Closter, NJ (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview