Cover image for On the fence
Title:
On the fence
Author:
West, Kasie.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Physical Description:
295 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"Sixteen-year-old Charlie has always been a tomboy, but when she accidentally becomes a makeup model, her newfound feminity draws her into an unknown social world, complete with guy troubles she's never had before"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062235671
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Paperback
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door.

With three older brothers, Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, has always been more comfortable calling the shots on a basketball court than flirting with the opposite sex. So when her police officer dad demands she get a summer job to pay for the latest in a long line of speeding tickets, she's more than a little surprised to find herself working at a chichi boutique and going out with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game. Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with her neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden, sitting back-to-back against the fence that separates them. Braden may know her better than anyone. But there's a secret Charlie's keeping that even he hasn't figured out--she's fallen for him. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

On the Fence is a sweet and satisfying read about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect it.


Author Notes

Kasie West is an American author, based in California. She is a graduate of Fresno State University with a Bachelor of Arts degree. She writes contemporary young adult novels. Her work includes The Distance Between Us; On the Fence; The Fill-In Boyfriend; The Sun, The Moon, and the Truth; P.S. I Like You; By Your Side; Lucky in Love; Love, Life, and the List; and Listen to Your Heart (May 2018). She also wrote the Pivot Point Series, which includes Pivot Point and Split Second.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Charlie Reynolds is a tomboy who prefers chilling out with her three older brothers and playing sports. When she starts to hang with a new group of friends, including a potential romantic interest, who have never known Charlie as a sporty girl, Charlie begins to feel as though she has a split personality. She takes refuge in late-night talks with her childhood friend and next-door neighbor, Braden, out by the fence that separates them it makes it easier to talk when they aren't face-to-face. But the more they interact, the more Charlie realizes she's falling hard for him. But would he ever be interested in a girl like Charlie? Yes, it's a romance, but the plot deepens when Charlie deals with the death of a mother she can't remember. West creates a fun family dynamic and successfully builds the tension between Charlie and Braden throughout. A sweet, breezy story that is nonetheless meaningful.--Thompson, Sarah Bean Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Sixteen-year-old tomboy Charlie Reynolds undergoes a summer of soul-searching and growth in West's (Split Second) fourth book for teens. Raised with plenty of male influences-three brothers, her next door neighbor Braden, and a widowed police officer father-Charlie is a star athlete and well-protected from the outside world, especially when it comes to dating. Recently, Charlie has been crushing on Braden, and she's also getting attention for her looks at her new job at a clothing store. In short, Charlie's sense of identity is in upheaval, her intense workouts aren't sufficient relief, and her constant nightmares about her mother's fatal car accident are stirring up repressed memories. Nightly, Charlie and Braden find solace in sneaking out to talk to each other (Braden's father is drinking a lot), but Charlie fears that he will never see her as anything more than just a buddy. West builds enjoyable tension and absorbing chemistry between Charlie and Braden, and her depiction of growing up surrounded by brothers is thoroughly enjoyable. Ages 13-up. Agent: Michelle Wolfson, Wolfson Literary Agency. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 8 Up-West crafts a beautiful story that will hook lovers of contemporary teen romance. Ever since her mom died, Charlie, a 16-year-old tomboy who loves all things sports, spends most of her time playing pick-up games with her three brothers and next-door neighbor Braden. But when Charlie's dad makes her get a job to pay off a speeding ticket, she lands a job at a clothing store where she must model make-up and be more feminine than she's ever cared to be. Soon she's in over her head with lies-lying to her dad, her boss, and a cute boy who's never seen the tomboy side of her. The only thing that saves her are her late night fence chats with Braden, who she is slowly beginning to fall in love with but can't risk losing. This tale is eloquently written and goes deeper than most teen romances dare to go. For fans of Susane Colasanti and Stephanie Perkins.-Candyce Pruitt-Goddard, Hartford Public Library, CT (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.