Cover image for I'm brave!
Title:
I'm brave!
Author:
McMullan, Kate, author.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, N.Y. : Balzer & Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014]

©2014
Physical Description:
32 unnumbered pages : color illustrations ; 24 x 29 cm
Summary:
He's a big red engine with a siren, a horn, a tank full of water, and whole lotta hose! He's a good-lookin' fire truck, and he's brave, too. When the alarm sounds, he's gotta drive through smoke and heat straight to a blazing fire!
Language:
English
Reading Level:
Ages 4-8.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 2.2 0.5 170611.
ISBN:
9780062203182
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Being fixed/mended
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train comes the perfect noisy addition to this hilarious read-aloud series from the popular creators of I Stink!, and I'm Dirty!--now a streaming animated series!

I'm Brave! is the most irresistible addition yet to Kate and Jim McMullan's hilarious read-aloud series: a fire truck.

He's a big red engine

With a siren,

A horn,

A tank full of water,

And a whole lotta hose!

He's a good-lookin' fire truck,

And he's brave, too.

When the alarm sounds

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeoooooooooo

He's gotta drive through

Smoke and heat

Straight to a blazing fire!

Honk! Honk!


Author Notes

Kate McMullan was born in 1947 in St. Louis, Missouri. She received a Bachelor's degree in elementary education at the University of Tulsa and a Master's degree in early childhood education from Ohio State University. She taught elementary school in inner-city Los Angeles and on an American Air Force base in Germany. In 1976, she moved to New York City and became an editor of language arts and audiovisual materials for a publishing house.

She has written over 50 children's books under the names Kate McMullan, Katy Hall, and K. H. McMullan. The book, I Stink!, won a Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor. Nutcracker Noel and Hey, Pipsqueak, which were illustrated by her husband Jim McMullan, were voted among the New York Times Ten Best Picture Books of the Year. She writes the Dragon Slayers' Academy series and the Fluffy, the Classroom Guinea Pig series.

She also teaches at New York University's School of Continuing and Professional Studies and is a member of the faculty of the New School's MFA Writing Program.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Here's a sure-to-be-popular choice from the writer-illustrator team behind picture-book favorites such as I Stink! (2002) and I'm Dirty! (2006). Not just brave, this fire engine is bold, brash, and brassy as he toots his own horn. While he points out his impressive equipment, the contents of his toolbox, and the many things he can do, the alarm sounds. He races through city streets to join other fire trucks and deal with a burning warehouse. No people appear in the illustrations, though the truck gives firefighters a little credit for putting out a blaze, as well as caring for the equipment, washing the engine, and polishing his chrome. The focus remains on the proud fire truck, whose distinctive persona sets the tone through the lively text and well-crafted paintings. Created with watercolor and gouache, the illustrations include dramatic action scenes, as well as quieter pictures showcasing the brave (And GOOD LOOKIN') fire truck. Great fun for reading aloud.--Phelan, Carolyn Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

A supremely confident fire engine races to the rescue in the latest vehicular outing from the McMullans. Jim McMullan's watercolor and gouache artwork continues the series' strict vehicular focus: no firefighters appear, and the empty warehouse on fire means no citizens are in danger. Kate McMullan's rundown of the many tools on board the truck will satisfy young gearheads and future firefighters alike ("Can you match 'em?" asks the truck, appearing next to hydrant wrenches, saws, hooks, and more), and the truck's bravado (and bravery) never waver. Ages 4-8. Agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 2-With a siren, a horn, a tank full of water, and a "whole lotta, WHOLE LOTTA HOSE," a big red engine, the latest star in the popular series of picture books that includes I Stink! (2002) and I'm Dirty! (2006, both Harper Collins), comes equally loaded with swagger and personality. After introducing himself and flaunting his features, a 911 call comes in that completely changes the story's tenor. The fire engine races off to the Pine Street Warehouse and takes readers with him. Urgency and power flood the spreads through the combination of words and visuals. "Traffic? I'm talkin' to YOU! Over to the curb-I'm comin' through!" Done in watercolor and gouache, the illustrations use bold colors, powerful perspectives, and strategic line work to create movement and energy. Never faltering in confidence or persistence, the fire engine directs his tools until the flames are completely out. Back at the fire station, he calls on the firefighters (never shown in the story) to clean him up and put him to bed-but not before he poses his original question from the beginning: What do you call a big red engine like this? "BRAVE! That's what. And-GOOD LOOKIN'." The back cover shows him sound asleep. This boisterous story pays homage to the importance of fire fighters-and their engines-while maintaining plenty of action and a sense of fun.-Julie Roach, Cambridge Public Library, MA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.