Cover image for Go to sleep, little farm
Title:
Go to sleep, little farm
Author:
Ray, Mary Lyn, author.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2014]
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 24 x 27 cm
Summary:
"The farm's creatures prepare for night and rest"--
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780544150140
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, Mary Lyn Ray presents a hushed picture book about the rhythm of the natural world on a small farm as all creatures prepare for sleep. Artist Christopher Silas Neal's classic illustrations quiet even the most restless little night owls with familiar childlike imagery and the comforts of routine. All is well, it reminds them. Now is the time for dreams.


Author Notes

Mary Lyn Ray was born in Louisiana in 1946. She is a conservationist who worked in museums for fifteen years and as a professional consultant in land protection and historic preservation. She is also the author of several picture books for children including Christmas Farm, Pumpkins, Shaker Boy, Welcome, Brown Bird, and Stars.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

In this sleepy-time read, a little girl gazes out a farmhouse window, thinking of how somewhere a bee makes a bed in a rose, a beaver weaves a bed in a bog, a bear finds a bed in a log, and so on. Each of the girl's musings is illustrated with a view of the sleepy, shelter-seeking animal and then contrasted with the girl's own similar preparations for bed. For example, the bear in a log is followed by the little girl burrowing under the covers to read. The book then moves softly toward sleep, as the girl thinks about how trees sleep, and a rooster perches on a sliver of moon. The final section bids adieu to all the animals we have met (Go to sleep, little fish, etc.) and ends with the girl's mother leaning over the now-sleeping child: Go to sleep, little ear. The blue-hued mixed-media illustrations soothingly depict a farm as it moves from dusk to night and bring a hush to the book and no doubt its readers as well.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Ray's (Stars) lullaby reads like a sequel to Goodnight, Moon, with the same offbeat humor and incantatory language extending to the farm and the forest beyond it. Animals are seen settling down for the night while a young bed goer in the farmhouse mirrors their actions. "Somewhere a beaver weaves a bed in a bog,/ Somewhere a bear finds a bed in a log." Neal, in a reprise of the remarkable cutaway views of his Over and Under the Snow, shows the bulky bear at rest, while on the following page, the girl reads underneath her blankets, the mound of bedclothes echoing the curves of bear and log. The retro-style mixed-media artwork is created in the blues and roses of twilight, and the action swings between outside and inside. Repeated, pleasingly surreal lines of verse convey the sense of drifting into slumber: "Somewhere a worm sleeps in the dirt./ Somewhere a pocket sleeps in a skirt." The worm emits delicate a row of z's; so does the pocket. It's a keeper. Ages 4-8. Author's agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary Agency. Illustrator's agent: Stephen Barr, Writers House. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 2-On a quiet farm a variety of creatures are preparing for sleep: gray mice hide under roots, a beaver makes a bed in a bog, and a little girl prepares to go to sleep. The sweet storyline and crafty wordsmithing combine for a work that children will love to listen to before going to bed. Such lines as "Somewhere a story goes to sleep in a book/ Somewhere a worm sleeps in the dirt" keeps the listener engaged. Narration by Maria Cabezas is rhythmic and calming, perfect for a relaxing story time or bedtime. Young listeners will enjoy hearing about animals' bedtime routines while the little girl prepares for her bedtime alongside them. This is a home run with a cozy feel that rivals Goodnight Moon. -VERDICT Recommended for all collections.-Jessica Gilcreast, Bedford High School, NH © Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.