Cover image for Lug : dawn of the Ice Age
Title:
Lug : dawn of the Ice Age
Author:
Zeltser, David.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Egmont USA, 2014.
Physical Description:
182 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Summary:
"Lug is a cave boy who would rather paint than fight. When he is banished from his clan, he and his two friends discover that the Ice Age is coming, and must figure out how to save their people"--
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781606845134
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-New Materials
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood caveboy perfect for fans of Ice Age and Happy Feet.

Lug is a caveboy who would rather paint than club other caveboys. The clan even mocks him, calling him "Little Slug." Like all the other caveboys, Lug must enter the contest to become the clan's next Big Man and attempt to catch the Biggest Beast--even though he would much rather spend his days painting in his secret art cave.

When Lug is banished for failing to catch a jungle llama, he thinks he is alone in the world but finds others who believe in him: his clanmate Stony, and a new friend, Echo, a girl from a rival clan who can talk to animals and just may be prehistory's first vegetarian/animal rights activist. Together they face even bigger challenges--Lug discovers the Ice Age is coming and he has to bring the warring clans together to save them not only from the freeze but also from a particularly unpleasant migrating pride of saber-toothed tigers. It's no help that the elders are cavemen who can't seem to get the concept of climate change through their thick skulls.

With funny, anachronistic humor and charming characters, Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age is sure to be a hit with many readers.


Author Notes

David Zeltser's upcoming books include LUG--book 2 (Egmont, 2015) and NINJA BABY (Chronicle Books, 2015). David also writes screenplays and performs improv comedy. After graduating from Harvard, he worked with all kinds of wild animals, including owls, rhinos, sharks and ad executives. He now lives in Santa Cruz, California, with his family and many barking sea lions. Check out all of David's books and adventures on www.davidzeltser.com, Facebook and Twitter @davidzeltser.


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-5-Life as a caveboy is rough. You constantly have to prove yourself by bashing anything that moves with your club. For Lug, it's the complete opposite of who he is. Lug is an artist who would much rather paint on the walls of a cave than smash skulls with his club. In Lug's words, "paintings don't tell you what to do, or call you names, or make you feel small or worthless." Ultimately, the protagonist is banished from his tribe because of his lack of bravery. He meets a vegetarian animal whisperer named Echo along with his tribesman Stony, and they work together to save their fighting clans from the impending deep freeze. This book is filled with humor but also a deeper message of learning to accept who you are and not backing down from what you are passionate about. The novel lends itself to discussions of bullying and accepting differences. Readers who are unfamiliar with the Ice Age could benefit from pairing this work with informational texts on the animals and climate of the time period. A roaring addition for public and school libraries.-Andy Plemmons, David C. Barrow Elementary, Athens, GA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.