Cover image for Bad magic
Title:
Bad magic
Author:
Bosch, Pseudonymous, author.
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
[Ashland, Oregon] : Blackstone Audio, Inc. ; New York, NY : Hachette Audio, [2014]

â„—2014
Physical Description:
6 audio discs (390 min.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
Summary:
Magic is BAD. As in fake. Cheesy. Unreal. At least, that's what Clay, who has seen one magic show too many, thinks. When words from his journal appear mysteriously on his school wall as graffiti, he never imagines that magic might be to blame. And when the same graffiti lands him at Earth Ranch, a camp for "troubled" kids on a remote volcanic island, magic is the last thing he expects to find there. But at Earth Ranch, there is one strange surprise after another, until Clay no longer knows what to expect. Is he really talking to a llama? Did he really see a ghost? What is the scary secret hidden in the abandoned library? The only thing he knows for sure is that behind the clouds of vog (volcanic smog), nothing is as it seems. Can he solve the riddle of Earth Ranch before trouble erupts?
General Note:
Title from web page.

Compact discs.

Duration: 6:30:00.

"Tracks every 3 minutes for easy bookmarking"--Container.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781478984993

9781478955542
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A magical new series from Pseudonymous Bosh, the bestselling author of the Secret series

Magic is BAD. As in fake. Cheesy. Unreal. At least, that s what Clay, who has seen one magic show too many, thinks.

When words from his journal appear mysteriously on his school wall as graffiti, he never imagines that magic might be to blame. And when the same graffiti lands him at Earth Ranch, a camp for troubled kids on a remote volcanic island, magic is the last thing he expects to find there.

But at Earth Ranch, there is one strange surprise after another, until Clay no longer knows what to expect. Is he really talking to a llama? Did he really see a ghost? What is the scary secret hidden in the abandoned library? The only thing he knows for sure is that behind the clouds of vog (volcanic smog), nothing is as it seems. Can he solve the riddle of Earth Ranch before trouble erupts?

Elusive author Pseudonymous Bosch introduces an extraordinary new series that will have you believing in the unbelievable."


Author Notes

Pseudonymous Bosch is the anonymous pseudonymous author of the Secret Series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

In Bosch's spin-off of the Secret Series, 12-year-old Clay has stopped believing in the magic tricks he used to practice with his brother, Max-Ernst, calling them fake cheese-wizardry. But Max-Ernst disappeared two years ago, and Clay has never stopped feeling abandoned. He is forced to confront the possibility that magic may be real when he is sent to a survival camp on a volcanic island full of oddities: strange campers, a swarm of bees guarding the borders, a disappearing teepee, and an abandoned library haunted by a girl's ghost. But even these things are not as they seem, as Clay discovers an elaborate stage production behind the mysteries, with his missing brother at its heart. Parallels with Shakespeare's Tempest, a play Clay performed in for school, are interesting but extraneous, and the story takes a bit too long to develop its mysteries. Still, Bosch's mix of slapstick silliness, sly authorial asides, and magical adventure will appeal to readers of Lemony Snicket and M. T. Anderson's Pals in Peril series.--Hutley, Krista Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Twelve-year-old Clay's misgivings about magic are tested in this enjoyable if overlong trilogy opener. Max-Ernest, from Bosch's bestselling Secret Series, has disappeared mysteriously. His younger brother Clay is left feeling stung and resentful, and he's as shocked as everyone else when the words "MAGIC SUCKS!" somehow-almost magically-migrate from his private journal to a classroom wall. This inexplicable graffiti mural gets Clay sent to Earth Ranch, a summer camp for "struggling youth" located on an island with an active volcano. Bosch's arch narrative voice carries over from his previous books, and that humor helps buoy a story that takes its time getting to the big revelations of its final chapters. From The Tempest and Lord of the Flies to shows like Gilligan's Island and Lost, cultural allusions abound as Clay tries to understand the island's many mysteries and meets his fellow campers. Gilbert's watercolors bring in additional humor, especially a scene of Clay's mother Skyping in to a family meeting. Ages 8-12. Author's agent: Sarah Burnes, the Gernert Company. Illustrator's agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-7-Bosch here begins a humorous trilogy centered on Clay, a wiggly, almost-13-year-old boy whose older brother, Max Ernest, is a magician gone missing. The older boy has soured Clay's interest in sleight-of-hand and card tricks. When the soon-to-be teen is falsely accused of writing, "Magic Sucks" on a wall, Clay's psychologist parents arrange a summer stay at a volcanic island camp called Earth Ranch. Once at the cloud-shrouded island, he finds a quirky camp with odd counselors and kids, plus llamas and rules enforced by guard bees. With elements of Shakespeare's The Tempest sprinkled throughout the tale, Clay discovers a ghostly girl, an abandoned library, and an eccentric custodian. Curious questions continue to emerge until Clay finally uncovers the true, but not evil, nature of the camp. Narrator Joshua Swanson creates identifiable personalities for all the characters. The sound quality is excellent, but the commercial packaging will need reinforcing before circulation. A PDF of Gilbert Ford's illustrations can expand student engagement with this upbeat title that is likely to intrigue upper elementary and middle school readers.-Barbara Wysocki, formerly with Cora J. Belden Library, Rocky Hill, CT (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.