Cover image for The 13-story treehouse
Title:
The 13-story treehouse
Author:
Griffiths, Andy, 1961-
Personal Author:
Edition:
Unabridged.
Publication Information:
Victoria, Australia : Bolinda Audio, [2011]
Physical Description:
2 audio discs (2 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Summary:
Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it's not just any old treehouse, it's the most amazing treehouse in the world! This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows them around and automatically shoots marshmallows into their mouths whenever they are hungry. Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn't for the fact that they have to write their next book.
General Note:
Compact discs.

Duration: 2:00:00.
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781486217243
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION CD Juvenile Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the international bestselling author for children

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it's not just any old treehouse, it's the most amazing treehouse in the world This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are hungry.

Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn't for the fact that they have to write their next book, which is almost impossible because there are just so many distractions, including thirteen flying cats, giant bananas, mermaids, sea monsters pretending to be mermaids, enormous gorillas, and dangerous burp gas-bubblegum bubbles

Join the fun with The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton.


Author Notes

Andrew Griffiths was born on September 3, 1961. He is an Australian children's book author and comedy writer. His titles include Just Tricking, Just Stupid!, Pencil of Doom, Robot Riot!, Treasure Fever!, and The 13-Storey Treehouse. His Just! series was adapted into an animated television series called What's with Andy?. He won the ABA Nielsen Book Data Booksellers Choice Award in 2015 for The 52-Story Treehouse. He also won the 2015 Dromkeen Medal at the State Library of Victoria. He was awarded the 2016 Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the year for younger children (0 to 8 years), the 2016 Kids Reading Oz Choice (KROC) Award for fiction for older readers and the 2016 Kids Own Australian Literature Awards (KOALAs) for Fiction for older readers for his book, The 65-Storey Treehouse. His book, The 91-Storey Treehouse, won the 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards, International Book of the Year. His recent bestsellers include The 78-Storey Treehouse, The Treehouse Fun Book 2, The Treehouse Fun Book 3, The 91-Storey Treehouse, and The 104-Story Treehouse..

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

In this series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey, a young author-illustrator pair discover that a single day of life in their gigantic tree house provides enough material for a manuscript to satisfy their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. Episodes involving a giant banana attack, a sea monster masquerading as a mermaid, burp-filled bubblegum bubbles, a threatening gorilla, and 13 ferocious flying cats are described in bites of text plentifully seasoned with Denton's scribbly, busy black-and-white cartoons, which vary from full page to spot to other rascally configurations that spill from the page. The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers. Even better, each short chapter stands alone, though the whole story hangs together thanks to repeating motifs. A treat for all with a sequel promised for next year. And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading.--Isaacs, Kathleen Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory. With so many distractions, is it any wonder that they're late with the book due to their publisher, Mr. Big Nose? "We were a little behind schedule," confides Andy. "Well, when I say 'a little behind schedule,' I mean a lot behind schedule. And when I say 'a lot behind schedule,' I mean a LOT LOT LOT behind schedule." It's due tomorrow, but before they can get to work, they have to handle an escaped catnary (a cat turned canary), "burp-gas-filled bubblegum bubbles," and a horde of destructive monkeys. Denton's manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail, as babies are pelted with garbage, yapping dogs squashed, and monkeys catapulted into the distance. A sequel was published last year in Australia and can't arrive soon enough. Ages 8-12. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-5-Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.-Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.