Cover image for All aboard!
Title:
All aboard!
Author:
Dotlich, Rebecca Kai.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2014]

©2014.
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 cm
Summary:
"Illustrations and rhyming text show two boys who meet on a train ride--as they pass through various landscapes and by other hard-working trains--on their way to camp"--
Language:
English
Reading Level:
400 Lexile.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780385754200

9780385754217
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Searching...
J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the creators of What Can a Crane Pick Up? comes a train-ride adventure--perfect for fans of Thomas the Tank Engine and Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site.

In this inviting, rhyming read-aloud, two kids become travel buddies as they watch cities and landscapes and other hard-working trains rush by, and also observe the conductor and funny goings-on inside the train, all illustrated in a fresh, hip, colorful style. Hop aboard!

"The chugga-chugga beat and appealing anthropomorphized trains will charm young train-lovers in this entertaining title that's a perfect fit for storytime." --Booklist


Author Notes

REBECCA KAI DOTLICH is a poet and picture book author whose work has been featured in numerous magazines, anthologies, and textbooks. Her books have received a number of awards including the Golden Kite Honor and a Bank Street Children's Book of the Year. She has two grown children and four grandchildren and lives in Indiana with her husband. Visit her at RebeccaKaiDotlich.com.

MIKE LOWERY's work has been seen in galleries and publications internationally, and he is Professor of Illustration at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Atlanta. He is the illustrator of The Gingerbread Man Loose in the School (written by Laura Murray), Ribbit Rabbit (by Candace Ryan) and Dr. Proctor's Fart Powder (by Jo Nesbo). Mike lives in Atlanta with a lovely German frau named Katrin and his super-genius daughter, Allister. Visit him at ArgyleAcademy.com.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

From the duo who brought you What Can a Crane Pick Up? (2012) comes another captivating machine story for youngsters. The infectious trainlike rhythm of the verses follows cheery locomotives, their cargo, and passengers on a long journey. The train cars snake through landscapes and glide past exciting sights, while the text is punctuated by a freight car's worth of catchy train sounds: A warning! CLANG, CLANG / as the train scoots along. / A CLATTER-AND-CHUG / in its rumbling song. Though some of the terms might be a little tricky for the littlest train fans to grasp, the friendly and cartoonish illustrations of smiley trains and passengers, along with some vocabulary guidance from a grown-up, will rope them in. The chugga-chugga beat and appealing anthropomorphized trains will charm young train-lovers in this entertaining title that's a perfect fit for storytime.--Miller, Annie Copyright 2015 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Dotlich and Lowery sang the praises of an oft-overlooked piece of machinery in What Can a Crane Pick Up? There's significantly more competition out there for this companion title about train travel, but Dotlich's buoyant rhymes and Lowery's loose cartooning and manically drawn text supply plenty of personality. "Trains whistle through prairies,/ a long, steel sweep./ Through thunder and wind,/ they have schedules to keep," reads one spread, as Lowery's lightly anthropomorphized train whistles to itself under a dark sky-smiling down at the train is a single nonthreatening storm cloud, a bolt of yellow lighting dangling like a dog's tail. It's a lighthearted ode to the landscape trains traverse, the cargo they carry, and the joy of seeing the sights while riding the rails. Ages 2-5. Agent: Deborah Warren, East West Literary Agency. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.