Cover image for The red chameleon
Title:
The red chameleon
Author:
Wright, Erica, 1981- , author.
Edition:
First Pegasus Books edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Pegasus Crime, 2014.
Physical Description:
241 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"As a private investigator, Kathleen Stone relies on her ability to blend into the background. Aided by her street-smart drag queen friend and the best wigmaker in New York City, she feels confident that her camouflage is up to snuff. But when a cheating spouse she's been trailing ends up dead under suspicious circumstances, she fears that an old enemy from her years as an undercover cop has seen through her disguises. Now she must work with her former colleagues in the NYPD to solve the case before she's the next victim" --
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781605985688
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Mystery
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

As a private investigator, Kathleen Stone relies on her ability to blend into the background. Aided by her street-smart drag queen friend and the best wigmaker in New York City, she feels confident that her camouflage is up to snuff. But when a cheating spouse she's been trailing ends up dead under suspicious circumstances, she fears that someone she angered in her past job--busting gangs and drug dealers as an undercover cop--has seen through her disguises. Now she must work with her former colleagues in the NYPD to solve the case before she's the next victim.


Author Notes

Erica Wright is a senior editor at Guernica Magazine. Her first novel featuring P. I. Kathleen Stone, The Red Chameleon, was published by Pegasus Books in 2014. Erica lives in Florida.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Private Investigator Kathleen Stone is a 25-year-old former undercover cop with a talent for disguises. Investigating philanderers seems like safe work after living undercover with drug dealers until one cheating husband ends up dead in an upscale bar. Unfortunately, Stone is the most likely suspect, but former police academy partner turned detective Ellis Dekker would rather work with her than arrest her. After her apartment and her office are broken into and vandalized, Stone is asked to unofficially join the investigation. There is some chemistry between her and Dekker as well as between her and her former undercover lover. Her closest friends, a drag queen and a gifted wig maker, help with her disguises and add some humor to the mayhem. Stone is an engaging character with a disturbing background that adds another layer to this first novel. Wright is a little darker and not quite as over the top as Janet Evanovich, but aficionados of humorous mysteries like the Stephanie Plum series and the Lucky O'Toole series by Deborah Coonts will want to add this to their reading lists.--Alesi, Stacy Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

At the start of this riveting crime novel from poet Wright (Instructions for Killing the Jackal), PI Kat Stone, a former NYPD undercover detective, discovers the dead body of Stephen Kramer, the unfaithful husband she's been tailing, in the men's room of an Upper East Side bar. When Kat begins to look like the most likely suspect in Kramer's shooting murder, Det. Ellis Dekker, who's in charge of the case and a friend of Kat's, vouches for her innocence and brings her unofficially into the investigation. After someone breaks into both her home and office, Kat begins to think that her former undercover activities might be catching up with her. Painful repressed memories start to surface that touch on the reason she resigned from the police force at age 25. A possible romance with Ellis adds to the intrigue, as does the appearance of a past lover. Readers will want to see more of the humorous, thoroughly engaging Kat. Agent: Penn Whaling, Ann Rittenberg Literary Agency. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Meet Kathleen Stone, an ex-NYPD officer who is now a private investigator and a mistress of disguises (with the help of the best wigmaker in NYC). Her latest case involves trailing her client's possibly cheating husband. Stone follows him into a bar where he is killed in the men's room. Her suspicions are raised when the wife-turned-widow pays off Stone's contract with a nice bonus attached. As Stone continues to follow clues and work with her former police friends, she fears that her history as an undercover cop may be interfering with her present investigation. VERDICT Wright's debut novel offers a promising start to a hard-boiled series featuring an idiosyncratic female PI whose quirkiness will appeal to fans of Linda Barnes or Karen Kijewski. While the action is sometimes slowed down by excessively repeated wig details, the author gives tantalizing glimpses into Stone's undercover career that one hopes will be developed more to help further explain some of her unusual behaviors. The supporting characters are also well developed and absorbing.-Frances Thorsen, Chronicles of Crime Bookshop, Victoria, BC (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.