Cover image for Nirvana Live! Tonight! Sold out!!
Nirvana Live! Tonight! Sold out!!
Silvey, Tina.
Publication Information:
Santa Monica, CA : Geffen Records, [2006]

Physical Description:
1 videodisc (83 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in.
Video clips from a variety of interviews with Nirvana and Curt Cobain and concerts performed around the world during 1991, 1992 and 1993.
General Note:
Previously released on videocassette in 1994.
Aneurysm -- About a girl -- Dive -- Love buzz -- Breed -- Smells like teen spirit -- Negative creep -- Come as you are -- Territorial pissings -- Something in the way -- Lithium -- Drain you -- Polly -- Sliver -- On a plain -- Endless nameless -- Extras (Live in Amsterdam). School ; About a girl ; Been a son ; On a plain ; - Blew.

Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Lake Shore Library M1630.18.N57 L58 2006V Adult DVD Audio Visual

On Order



When Kurt Cobain took his own life in the spring of '94, Nirvana had a home video project in the works. The whole idea of the video was conceived by Cobain himself (it was to loosely chronicle the band's meteoric rise circa the Nevermind-era), and while some video shorts were completed -- such as video montages accompanied with guitar feedback -- the video lay unfinished. Surviving Nirvana members Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl stepped in and finished the video later in the year, released under the title Live Tonight Sold Out. Nirvana has always been praised for their unpredictable, high-energy live shows, and LTSO shows how great the trio could be on stage. Explosive versions of "Aneurysm," "Breed," "Dive," "Territorial Pissings," and "Drain You" are obvious standouts, as well as numerous interviews with the bandmembers that offer great insight into the group, just as they were hitting it big. Also included is a disturbing performance of "Love Buzz," in which Cobain gets into a fight with an overly aggressive bouncer (you can clearly see the whole altercation unfurl bit by bit), and a hilarious rendition of "Smells Like Teen Spirit," in which the music is taped, but Cobain's vocals are live -- sung in a goofy low voice. While not all of the renditions here hit the mark (a better version of "Come As You Are" could have replaced the out of tune and badly sung version that resides here), Live Tonight Sold Out overall is a superb collection of Nirvana circa Nevermind. ~ Greg Prato

Google Preview