Cover image for Six feet over it
Title:
Six feet over it
Author:
Longo, Jennifer.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, [2014]
Physical Description:
341 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
When fourteen-year-old Leigh's father buys a graveyard and insists she work there after school, she learns much about life, death, and the power of friendship.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
HL 720 Lexile.
ISBN:
9780449818718

9780449818725
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library XX(1944873.2) Young Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Young Adult
Searching...
Clarence Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Marilla Free Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Newstead Library Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven.
 
"Like nothing you've read before." --Bustle.com
 
"Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice." -- Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author
 
"A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between." -- Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs
 
"Terrific. Longo had me at 'graveyard' and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters." -- Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author
 
No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he's too lazy to look farther than the dinner table for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she becomes great at predicting headstone choice (mostly granite) and taking notes with one hand while offering Kleenex with the other.
 
Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to quit this stupid after-school job. But her world's been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her gravedigger. Can Leigh move on, if moving on means it's time to get a life?
 
Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo's YA debut about a girl surrounded by death will change the way you look at friendship, love, and life.
 
More Praise for Six Feet Over It :
 
A VOYA Perfect Tens 2014 Pick
 
An Indies Introduce New Voices Pick
 
"Equal parts poignant and humorous. . . . Superb." -- Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
"A vibrant voice. . . . Readers will rejoice." -- The Bulletin , Starred
 
"A unique book for unique teens." --Booklist
 
"A strong heroine, multicultural cast , and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out." --Publishers Weekly
 
"Stands out for its unusual setting and also the sarcasm and caustic humor of its protagonist." --The Horn Book Review
 
"Hilarious, clever, and poignant." --SLJ


Author Notes

JENNIFER LONGO holds an M.F.A. in Writing for Theater from Humboldt State University. She credits her lifelong flair for drama to parents who did things like buy the town graveyard and put their kids to work in it-because how hilarious would that be? Turns out, pretty hilarious. Jennifer lives in Seattle, Washington with her husband and daughter and writes about writing at taotejen.com.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

The one thing 14-year-old Leigh didn't need after the death of her friend Emily was for her dad to move the whole family, including her cancer-recovering sister, inland to work at the cemetery he suddenly decided to purchase. Now Leigh's days are filled with dealing with the Pre-Need (those buying plots for the future) and the At Need (those who need graves right now). Death, it seems, surrounds her, though the 19-year-old Mexican gravedigger, Dario, suggests that being the patron saint of death is rather beautiful. What looks to be positioned as a romance between Leigh and Dario develops into a surprising and quite refreshing story about the sometimes painful give-and-take of friendship, as Dario, over two years, helps Leigh to realize that accepting new relationships does not equal forgetting Emily. It may sound morose, but Longo gives it quite a bounce, with Leigh's wry sense of humor wreaking havoc on the day-to-day cemetery operations and her boisterous father bringing the laughs with his every sputtering shout of disbelief. A unique book for unique teens.--Kraus, Daniel Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

In a mordantly comedic coming-of-age story, 15-year-old Leigh believes she's the "patron saint of death." Not only did Leigh's parents move the family away from the California coast to operate a graveyard, but her sister has leukemia, her best friend Emily was killed by a falling tree, and death seems to be everywhere Leigh turns (she works selling gravesites to mourners). Yet after meeting a young Mexican gravedigger named Dario, Leigh's life at the cemetery starts looking up; the quirky graveyard regulars begin to grow on her, and she makes a new friend who reminds her of Emily. Debut author Longo provides Leigh with an offbeat, sarcastic worldview, revealed through Leigh's chatty running commentary about the people and events around her. Leigh's expressive inner monologues and witty observations about life and death vacillate from cynical and disassociated to deeply emotional: "I am the last person to hold her," Leigh muses as she buries a newborn baby. A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo's story stand out. Ages 12-up. Agent: Melissa Sarver, Folio Literary Management. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 7 Up-Instead of returning home at the end of a summer spent with their grandparents, Leigh and her older sister Kai receive two one-way bus tickets to Hangtown, CA. Their father has bought a graveyard and the family is moving. For the past three years, Leigh has been a stalwart support system for Kia while she battled cancer, and although the cancer is now in remission, Kai's health feels tenuous. And there's Emily, Leigh's best friend, who died over the summer. Her parents are neglectful and disengaged, and her father expects her to work after school in the graveyard office. Longo has crafted a complicated and multilayered narrative, the root of which is the story of a young girl who feels that death follows her. Leigh's aggressive sarcasm is at first off-putting, but soon it becomes clear that it masks a lot of pain. She resists making friends because she feels that being friends with her is to invite the specter of death. Leigh's worst fears are confirmed when Dario, the 20-year-old Mexican immigrant who works at the cemetery (and Leigh's crush), tells her that her birthday, November 1st, is the Day of the Dead in Mexico. Dario says she is like La Caterina, patron saint of the dead. It is through Dario's friendship, Kai's love, and the intrepid perseverance of Elanor, a girl who desperately wants to be her friend, that Leigh emerges from her grief and solidly joins the world of the living. An impressive debut novel-simultaneously hilarious, clever, and poignant.-Ragan O'Malley, Saint Ann's School, Brooklyn, NY (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview