Cover image for Kate the great : except when she's not
Title:
Kate the great : except when she's not
Author:
Becker, Suzy.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Crown, [2014]
Physical Description:
262 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Summary:
Fifth-grader Kate faces a challenge when her mother asks her to be especially nice to Nora, a classmate and fellow flute player who is sometimes mean.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
660 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.2 4.0 168592.
ISBN:
9780385387422

9780385387439
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Series
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries will love this illustrated series by the New York Times bestselling author of All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat . Meet Kate Geller, a sassy flute-playing artist, who comes up with an original way to redefine friendship.

Kate's older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to be pals with her frenemy, Nora. Her art teacher, Mrs. Petty, is way too uncreative, and how can Kate pay attention at Junior Guides when her pod leader has a sweat stain the size of the town beach? Now she has to get through her Christopher Columbus role during Discovery Day and her oColonial Buddieso report, but little does she know how much ohelpo she'll be getting from Eleanor Roosevelt and Albert Einstein.

This humorous debut novel features more than 350 illustrations.


Author Notes

Suzy Becker is best known for her international bestseller All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat. Suzy is the author/illustrator of three other books for kids, one book for babies, and two books for grown ups. Kate the Great is her first chapter book. Suzy has also had other jobs- lemonade stand owner (age 7), greeting card company mogul (not the ski-kind), and she helped to start the Francis Parker Charter Essential School. She lives with her family in central Massachusetts.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Fifth grade is going to be great; Kate Geller is sure of it. She has an awesome best friend, she's turning 10, and she's certain she'll be voted squad leader of her junior-guides pod and make flute section leader in band. But, as with most plans, nothing seems to go her way first her mom tells her to be nice to weird girl Nora; then a new pod leader takes over and institutes all kinds of terrible changes (no more squad leaders!); and she gets picked for co-section leader with none other than Nora. A few misunderstandings and little fibs get Kate in trouble, but with patient parents and supportive friends, she manages to make everything right again, even when it's not easy to be nice to a difficult new friend like Nora. Becker's first illustrated novel falls neatly in line with many others of its ilk, series such as Big Nate and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, particularly with regards to Kate's insouciant tone, exaggerations, and silly illustrations full of jokes.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

In this illustrated diary-style novel, Becker (Everything I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat) fills her prose and accompanying line illustrations with entertaining observational comedy. Fifth-grade spitfire Kate Geller groans when her mother asks her to "show extra kindness" to a standoffish classmate, Nora, while Nora's father is away on an extended business trip to Hong Kong. "Maybe he can take Nora with him," Kate scoffs, above an image of Nora strapped to a jet. "Kate, that's not funny," her mother responds. "Translation: That is funny but it's not nice." Kate's valiant, if disgruntled, efforts to befriend Nora lead to some humorous dilemmas, and Becker supplements Kate's school-day tribulations with snippets of home life, enlivened by her warm, quick-witted parents (the family's dinner conversations revolve around prompts and quotes pulled out of "Bob," the "Big Ol' Bowl" that sits on the table). Becker does an excellent job of channeling the behind-adults'-backs humor and friendship frustrations of the middle-school crowd, and Kate's doodles provide extra sass to this promising series launch. Ages 8-12. Agent: Edite Kroll, Edite Kroll Literary Agency. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 3-6-Debut novelist Becker employs doodles, cartoons, and comic strips reminiscent of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" (Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" (HarperCollins) books in this middle-grade series opener featuring fifth grader Kate Geller. Kate's story revolves around her school and family life and is told in a realistic and humorous tone. Kate gets involved with band and Junior Guides. Much of the plot involves Kate's desire to get to know a fellow student, Nora, who has isolated herself and doesn't have any friends. The protagonist's parents are influential in this, as they encourage their daughter to be friendly to Nora, even when the shy girl doesn't always make that easy. Fans of Rachel Renee Russell's "Dork Diaries" (S. & S.) and Jenni Holm's "Babymouse" (Random) will likely find a kindred spirit in Kate, in this latest in illustrated offerings.-Lauren M. Sinacore, George M. Davis Elementary School, New Rochelle, NY (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.