Cover image for Prelude for a Lord : a novel
Title:
Prelude for a Lord : a novel
Author:
Elliot, Camille.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Grand Rapids, Michigan : Zondervan, [2014]
Physical Description:
viii, 343 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
Awkward Alethea Sutherton secretly works at her passion for playing the violin because of standards of propriety for a lady, but when her instrument attracts unwanted attention, she looks to brooding Lord Dommick for help in finding out why.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780310320357
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Hamburg Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Bath, England 1810

At twenty-eight, Alethea Sutherton is past her prime for courtship; but social mores have never been her fort#65533;. She might be a lady, but she is first and foremost a musician.

In Regency England, however, the violin is considered an inappropriate instrument for a lady. Ostracized by society for her passion, Alethea practices in secret and waits for her chance to flee to the Continent, where she can play without scandal.

But when a thief 's interest in her violin endangers her and her family, Alethea is determined to discover the enigmatic origins of her instrument ... with the help of the dark, brooding Lord Dommick.

Scarred by war, Dommick finds solace only in playing his violin. He is persuaded to help Alethea, and discovers an entirely new yearning in his soul.

Alethea finds her reluctant heart drawn to Dommick in the sweetest of duets . . . just as the thief's desperation builds to a tragic crescendo . . .


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

After the deaths of her father and brother, Alethea goes to live with a widowed aunt in Bath because her cousin has inherited her childhood home. Her comfortable existence is challenged by not only the move to the city but also the expectation that she will serve as governess to 12-year-old orphaned Margaret. At age 28, Alethea has failed to meet society's expectations that she marry. Her passion is playing the violin but it's considered scandalous for a lady (especially an unmarried one) to perform in public. When a thief becomes interested in her instrument, she accepts help from Lord -Dommick, also a violinist, to protect it. His investigation into the violin's provenance puts his family, Alethea, and himself in danger physically as well as emotionally as rumors, lies, innuendo, and gossip abound. By the time the mystery of the violin's origins has been solved, Alethea may have found a man who actually loves her for herself. VERDICT The Christian element is not an important factor in this Regency England-set debut until near the end of the story. This is an enjoyable read for fans of Tamera Alexander and Tracie Peterson.-Margaret Bentley, Shiawassee District Lib., Owosso, MI (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview