Cover image for Season of the dragonflies : a novel
Title:
Season of the dragonflies : a novel
Author:
Creech, Sarah.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : William Morrow, [2014]

©2014
Physical Description:
324 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
When trouble starts brewing at the family perfumery, and the unique flowers used in the perfume start dying, Lucia, the youngest daughter who left years ago to make her own way - and who has begun showing signs of her own special abilities - returns home to save the company.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062307521

9780062307538

9780062326485
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Library
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

As beguiling as the novels of Alice Hoffman, Adriana Trigiani, Aimee Bender, and Sarah Addison Allen, Season of the Dragonflies is a story of flowers, sisters, practical magic, old secrets, and new love, set in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

For generations, the Lenore women have manufactured a perfume unlike any other, and guarded the unique and mysterious ingredients. Their perfumery, hidden in the quiet rolling hills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, creates one special elixir that secretly sells for millions of dollars to the world's most powerful--movie stars, politicians, artists, and CEOs. The Lenore's signature perfume is actually the key to their success.

Willow, the coolly elegant Lenore family matriarch, is the brains behind the company. Her gorgeous, golden-haired daughter Mya is its heart. Like her foremothers, she can "read" scents and envision their power. Willow's younger daughter, dark-haired, soulful Lucia, claims no magical touch, nor does she want any part of the family business. She left the mountains years ago to make her own way. But trouble is brewing. Willow is experiencing strange spells of forgetfulness. Mya is plotting a coup. A client is threatening blackmail. And most ominously, the unique flowers used in their perfume are dying.

Whoever can save the company will inherit it. Though Mya is the obvious choice, Lucia has begun showing signs of her own special abilities. And her return to the mountains--heralded by a swarm of blue dragonflies--may be the answer they all need.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Four generations of Lenore women have manufactured a unique, very costly perfume that endows its carefully selected wearers with spectacular success in their chosen careers. But things have started to go wrong. Willow, the president of Lenore Inc. is having memory lapses. One of the company's clients, a pop star, is causing trouble. Willow's older daughter, Mya, who has always dreamed of taking over when her mother steps down, feels threatened when younger daughter Lucia comes home after a 15-year absence. Lucia has never before manifested the family gifts, which involve visions as well as special skills with perfumery, but now she sees an ominous dark cloud hovering over Mya's head. And the rare flowers from which the perfume is made seem to be dying. Creech has created an intriguing premise in her first novel, but the plot elements related to the perfume and its powers are underdeveloped. More satisfying are the novel's Blue Ridge Mountains setting and the relationships among mother and daughters, sisters, and the men with whom they fall in love.--Quinn, Mary Ellen Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Creech's debut brings a magical realist touch to a tale of choices and consequences. In early-20th-century America, 18-year-old Serena Lenore defies her businessman father and elopes with Alex Bannister, a handsome young doctor. They live for a while in Borneo, where Alex researches the medical uses of local plants, and Serena discovers a new kind of flower. After the couple returns to America, settling down in Virginia in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Serena uses the flower to create a perfume that magically bestows success upon the women who wear it. Moving ahead to the present, the narrative finds Serena's daughter, Willow, heading the company founded by her mother, which is now called Lenore International, but beginning to lose her memory. Willow has two daughters: Mya, who has devoted herself to the business, and Lucia, who has rejected it to pursue acting in New York City. Lucia returns, however, after the failure of both her marriage and career. Meanwhile, dissatisfied customer Zoe Bennett, a fading Hollywood star, blackmails Lenore International by threatening to tell the world about the perfume, until now a secret to everyone but the company's select clients. By turns charming and suspenseful, this is a memorable first novel. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

In North Carolina author Creech's first novel, three headstrong women-Willow Lenore and her two grown daughters, Mya and Lucia-realize their high-end perfume business is in trouble. Few know the magical properties of the gardenias grown on the -Lenore property-isolated in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains-or the secret power of attraction their perfume provides to a select clientele. Handed down from mother to daughter for generations, the formula is never changed, until the Lenore women realize the future of the business entrusted to them is threatened. Fantastical elements, such as dragonflies that follow Lucia around and friendly deer that give piggyback rides, are breezed over in a quickly moving story involving man trouble, sibling rivalry, life-changing events, Hollywood intrigue, and death. VERDICT Fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Tiffany Baker will enjoy this charming, fast-paced novel that lightly blends folksy magical realism with a story of strained family relationships, messy romantic entanglements, and the power of the female bond. [See Prepub Alert, 2/3/14.]-Laurie Cavanaugh, Holmes P.L., Halifax, MA (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.