Cover image for Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites
Title:
Blue plate special : an autobiography of my appetites
Author:
Christensen, Kate, 1962-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Doubleday, [2013]
Physical Description:
353 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.

A mouthwatering literary memoir about an unusual upbringing and the long, winding path to happiness. For Christensen, food and eating have always been powerful connectors to self and world. In this passionate feast of a memoir she reflects upon her journey of innocence lost and wisdom gained, mistakes made and lessons learned, and hearts broken and mended. And food-- eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it-- becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life.
Language:
English
Contents:
Prologue -- Berkeley -- Wildermuth -- San Miguel -- Verde Valley and Spring Valley -- France -- Upstate, Oregon, Iowa -- New York -- Williamsburg and Greenpoint -- Monitor Street -- New England.
Personal Subject:
ISBN:
9780385536264
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
PS3553.H716 Z46 2013 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...
Searching...
PS3553.H716 Z46 2013 Adult Non-Fiction Biography
Searching...
Searching...
PS3553.H716 Z46 2013 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary