Cover image for Sisters
Title:
Sisters
Author:
MacDonald, Patricia J.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First world edition.
Publication Information:
Sutton : Severn House, 2013.

©2012
Physical Description:
216 pages ; 23 cm
Summary:
Having recently lost both her parents in a tragic car accident, Alex Woods is shocked to discover through the family lawyer that her beloved mother was keeping a secret: a baby she gave up for adoption when she had just left high school. But when Alex decides to search for her long lost sister-- and finds her-- she is in for a terrible surprise...
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780727882479
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Library
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Could finding her long lost sister be the biggest mistake Alex Woods has ever made?Having recently lost both her parents in a tragic car accident, Alex Woods is shocked to discover through the family lawyer that her beloved mother was keeping a secret - a baby she gave up for adoption when she had just left high school. But when Alex decides to search for her long lost sister - and finds her - she is in for a terrible surprise . . .nbsp;nbsp;


Author Notes

Patricia MacDonald's books are popular in America and France. Her novels include Suspicious Origin, Stranger in the House, Not Guilty, and The Unforgiven.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

After her parents die in a car accident, Alex Woods is shocked to learn she has a half-sister, a child whom her mother, then a teenager, placed for adoption. Alone in the world, Alex has her lawyer trace her sister, and he finds Dory Colson serving a sentence for the murder of her sister, an up-and-coming country music singer. Alex feels compelled to meet Dory. When Dory is freed because of her public defender's incompetence during her trial, she has nowhere to go (her adoptive mother wants nothing to do with her), prompting Alex to invite Dory to move in with her. While Alex wants to believe Dory is innocent, her behavior makes Alex nervous. Then Alex is stabbed in her own home. Is Dory guilty, or has someone been framing her all along? This fast-paced novel of psychological suspense with ­numerous plot twists pulls the reader in and keeps the pages turning.--O'Brien, Sue Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

On returning home to Chichester, Mass., Alex Woods learns a dark secret about her late mother in this well-plotted domestic thriller from Edgar-finalist MacDonald (Missing Child). As a teen, Alex's mother had an out-of-wedlock daughter whom she put up for adoption. Alex tracks down this long-lost sister, Dory Colson, who's serving a prison sentence for the murder of Lauren Colson, the sister in her adopted family. Dory insists she didn't kill Lauren, but her adopted parents believe otherwise. They warn Alex of Dory's violent juvenile record, yet Alex remains convinced of her innocence, helping Dory's lawyer to secure her release and retrial. Once out of prison, Dory begins to display signs of being deeply unstable, and Alex is forced to reexamine her assumptions about a sister she hardly knows. MacDonald's characters are born solely out of their situations, but constant twists and the lingering question of Dory's innocence make for an engrossing read. Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

After the death of her parents, Alex Woods finds out that she has a half-sister. When she locates the woman in prison, Alex is swept up in a murder mystery that takes over her life. Best-selling author MacDonald (Missing Child) creates a compelling whodunit. She successfully keeps the listener guessing to the very end. Her characters face unenviable life challenges and situations as the plot plays out. Well read by Bernadette Dunne, this book will appeal to readers who like Mary Higgins Clark and Joy Fielding and to those who enjoy mysteries in general. Verdict Recommended.-Joanna M. Burkhardt Univ. of Rhode Island Lib., Providence (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.