Cover image for Eve
Title:
Eve
Author:
Carey, Anna.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Harper, [2011]

©2011
Physical Description:
322 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
In 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus has wiped out most of the earth's population, Eve discovers the terrible fate that awaits students when they graduate from their all-girls school, and she sets off on a treacherous journey into the wilds of The New America, searching for a place where she can survive.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
760 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.2 10.0 147340.

Reading Counts RC High School 4.6 16 Quiz: 55857.
ISBN:
9780062048509
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale.

After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates.

To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.



Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Class valedictorian Eve hasn't left the School's compound since being brought there during the plague. Now, 12 years later, she is planning on becoming an artist in New America's capital. The night before graduation, she is tipped off by a classmate to the terrifying truth about her postgraduation fate. She escapes into an unfamiliar world, facing dangers from feral animals to men, whom she has been taught to distrust. Then she meets Caleb, who becomes an unexpected friend, and eventually more. The king's army continues to pursue her, lending immediacy to her survival struggle. Although this title covers familiar dystopian terrain, Eve is an appealing protagonist who, in searching for a safe haven, finds courage, determination, and the meaning of love. Her descriptive first-person narrative grounds the futuristic elements with references to real life, including geography, history, and literature. Interweaving romance and suspense, this hefty, absorbing first title in a planned trilogy leaves plenty unresolved and is sure to have readers anticipating the next title.--Rosenfeld, Shelle Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Dubious gender politics and questionable character choices hinder this dystopian romance from Carey (the Sloane Sisters series). A generation after a plague wiped out 98% of humanity, orphaned girls like Eve are raised in secluded schools, conditioned to fear the outside, distrust men, and look forward to a comfortable life in the City of Sand. When Eve discovers what's actually intended for her, she flees the school. Teaming up with another refugee classmate, Eve meets Caleb, a teenage boy who alternately attracts and repels her. Together and separately, the three struggle through numerous dangers in the postapocalyptic landscape, while Eve and Caleb fall for one another. First in a trilogy, the book squanders most of its potential on a premise involving repopulation through forced breeding, a "Wendy and the Lost Boys" scenario, and the protagonist's naivete and ill-considered actions. With rare exceptions, men are portrayed either as brutes to be feared or feral children in need of a mother figure. Similarly, women who aren't complicit in maintaining the status quo are all but reduced to broodmares or objects of lust. Ages 12-up. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Eve is orphaned by a devastating plague that killed 98 percent of the population. Twelve years later she is set to graduate from an all-girls orphanage, where the students have been promised bright futures in the careers of their choice. However, the day before graduation Eve discovers that they are actually going to be bound to beds, impregnated against their will, and forced endlessly to bear children in order to repopulate the country. This discovery is horrific indeed, or at least it would be if it made any sense. The plot and characters are undermined by huge logical holes in the dystopian world-building. The girls are taught to hate men through reinterpretations of classic literature, but why bother educating them at all when they are going to spend their lives as prisoners? When Eve (unsurprisingly) escapes, more discrepancies emerge. "The New America" is now ruled by a king who has a large army and runs the schools for orphan girls as well as work camps for orphan boys. But if depleted population is the problem, why are the orphan boys being mistreated and killed? Why separate the genders at all? When Eve and her former frenemy from the orphanage end up in a camp of feral boys and meet the muscular yet gentle Caleb, a predictable romance ensues. Carey's clever writing and imaginative storytelling have potential but ultimately cannot save this flawed novel.-Eliza Langhans, Hatfield Public Library, MA (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.