Cover image for The lying game
Title:
The lying game
Author:
Shepard, Sara, 1977-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperTeen, [2010]

©2010
Physical Description:
307 pages ; 22 cm
Summary:
Seventeen-year-old Emma Paxton steps into the life of her long-lost twin Sutton to solve her murder, while Sutton looks on from her afterlife.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
HL 730 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.9 9.0 142969.
ISBN:
9780061869709
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Teen
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...
Searching...
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Young Adult
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestselling series

The first book in the New York Times bestselling series The Lying Game, by author of the bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, Sara Shepard.

Shortly before her seventeenth birthday, Emma discovers she has a long-lost twin named Sutton Mercer. She contacts Sutton, who agrees to a rendezvous, but never shows up. Curious at first, Emma slips into Sutton's ultra-glamorous life, assuming her identity. When it becomes clear that Sutton is not coming back, that someone made sure she never could, Emma plunges in to investigate who could have wanted her sister gone (a fairly long list, she discovers). Unfortunately, taking over Sutton's life means innocent little Emma has inherited all that bad blood--and then some.



Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's #1 New York Times bestselling series Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game has all the juicy plot lines, to-die-for lifestyles, and compelling secrets that fans love.


Author Notes

Sara Shepard received an undergraduate degree from New York University and a MFA from Brooklyn College. The novels in her Pretty Little Liars series were inspired by her upbringing in Philadelphia's Main Line. Her other works include the Lying Game series, The Visibles (also titled All the Things We Didn't Say), and Everything We Ever Wanted. Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game have been made into TV series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Identical twins who have never met, a mean-girl crowd with more money than morals, a stoic foster kid, and a beyond-the-grave narrator all propel readers into a roller-coaster ride of physical and emotional challenges in this first book in a new series. Foster kid Emma, two weeks shy of her eighteenth birthday, discovers she has a twin named Sutton and runs away from Las Vegas to meet her in Tucson. Sutton, however, seems to have been killed during the making of a snuff film. Narrating from the afterlife, Sutton cannot remember exactly who killed her, or much else about her life, as she watches her living twin try to solve the mystery. Shepard does a fast and thorough job of getting readers to suspend disbelief and go along for an adventure through a nasty underbelly of adolescent peer pressure and rebellion. Only toward the end does it become apparent that the platform is being prepared for the launch of a forthcoming second volume.--Goldsmith, Francisca Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Those who get past the improbable premise of Shepard's (the Pretty Little Liars books) series debut will find a fun and fast-moving mystery. Foster kid Emma never knew she had an identical twin until she sees an online video of a girl named Sutton being choked by a masked figure. She tries to contact her, but a planned reunion goes awry when Sutton never shows up (readers know this is because she has been killed; Sutton narrates the book as a ghost, unable to communicate with Emma, but eager to "solve my own murder"). Kicked out of her foster home and mistaken for Sutton by Sutton's friends and family, Emma starts living her privileged life; the stakes rise dramatically when she learns her other half is dead. Clique lit fans will recognize the familiar mix of label-dropping and mean girl behavior, but the dark mystery adds a compelling layer. Readers may have a hard time buying the ease with which Emma slips into Sutton's very different life, but they will race through the pages as Emma pieces together clues and will have plenty to ponder as they anticipate the next installment. Ages 14-up. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-In foster care for most of her childhood, Emma aches to belong to a family. She gets that chance when her foster brother frames her for theft and discredits her with a disturbing snuff film on the Internet that reveals a potential sibling. As a result, she is forced to leave her foster home. Emma immediately sets out to meet the mysterious star of the film only to be plunged into assuming the role of her popular and privileged dead twin sister, Sutton Mercer. Readers might initially balk at the easy acceptance of Emma playing the role of her twin. However, Sutton's friends are just shallow enough to barely notice the difference between mean-girl Sutton and introspective Emma. In fact, Sutton's friends appear to be her enemies as Emma works to uncover the truth about the girl's death. As she searches for answers, she learns about the Lying Game, a group of teens, including Sutton and her friends, whose object is to humiliate and frighten the students and parents in their community. The suspense reaches a dangerous frenzy as Emma gets closer to finding the identity of her sister's killer. The first in a projected series, this is a thrilling mystery with just the right doses of romance and danger. Readers will race to the end, hoping to reveal the truth behind the incidents surrounding Sutton's death, only to find themselves simultaneously frustrated by the lack of closure and eager for the sequel.-Lynn Rashid, Marriotts Ridge High School, Marriottsville, MD (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.