Cover image for Abigail Iris : the pet project
Title:
Abigail Iris : the pet project
Author:
Glatt, Lisa, 1963-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Walker, [2010]

©2010
Physical Description:
164 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm
Summary:
When Abigail Iris finally gets the new kitten she has been wanting, she learns about the responsibilities that come with pet ownership, as well as the impact a kitten can have on a large family like hers.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
007-010.

940 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 4.7 3.0 138732.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 7.3 7 Quiz: 49619.
ISBN:
9780802786579
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Abigail Iris has a half-birthday coming up, and she knows it's the perfect excuse to ask for the adorable kitten up for adoption at her local farmer's market. After all, everyone else in her life seems to be getting something new: her Only friend Rebecca has a new baby brother on the way, and her brother Eddie has a new girlfriend named Molly. But Abigail finds that once the kitten is hers, he brings with him lots of new responsibilities and life lessons, too. Full of new beginnings, last good byes, and fresh starts, Abigail Iris: The Pet Project has just as much joy and heart as the first adventure.


Author Notes

Lisa Glatt is the author of Abigail Iris: The One and Only , as well as the short story collection The Apple's Bruise and the novel A Girl Becomes a Comma Like That. She teaches at California State University, Long Beach and is married to writer David Hernandez. www.lisaglatt.com/

Suzanne Greenberg is the author of Abigail Iris: The One and Only , as well as Speed-Walk and Other Stories , Winner of the Drue Heinz Prize for Literature, 2003. She currently teaches creative writing at California State University. She lives in Long Beach, California, with her husband and their three children.

Joy Allen has illustrated over 30 books for children, including the popular American Girl Hopscotch Hill School series and Abigail Iris: The One and Only . Her art has appeared on the cover of Publishers Weekly, in the L.A. Times , and on the Today Show. She lives in Cameron Park, California. www.joyallenillustration.com


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-4-Eight-year-old Abigail Iris's three best friends are only children, "Onlies." She thinks they're lucky for many reasons, but especially fortunate because their parents let them celebrate their half birthdays. With her half birthday just days away, she convinces her parents to let her mark the event by getting her a kitten. Unfortunately, her older sister is allergic to it. Abigail Iris has spunk and insight, and she employs them with a plan to solve this dilemma. Also, her friend Rebecca will be losing her status when her mother has a baby, leaving Abigail Iris with much to ponder regarding the advantages and disadvantages of having siblings. A companion book to Abigail Iris: The One and Only (Walker, 2009), the story is told from the child's point of view. Fast-paced conversation, coupled with realistic events, creates a fun read while full-page black-and-white illustrations add interest. Fans of Ramona, Clementine, and Junie B. will embrace this feisty girl.-Helen Foster James, University of California at San Diego (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.