Cover image for Yamato : a rage in heaven
Title:
Yamato : a rage in heaven
Author:
Kato, Ken.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Warner Books, [1990]

©1990
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780446515702
Format :
Book

On Order

Reviews 3

Booklist Review

This is the beginning volume of a projected five-volume saga of interstellar warfare, in which the descendants of today's Americans and Japanese square off for a confrontation in which the winner will rule the very stars. While billed as a replay of World War II, it has also a good deal in common with the sixteenth-century duel between Spain and Elizabethan England. It has certainly been conceived and executed on a gigantic scale, with an abundance of action, exotic settings, and characters. Very much in the tradition of David Eddings, Frank Herbert, and L. Ron Hubbard, this will be enjoyed by space-adventure lovers. ~--Roland Green


Publisher's Weekly Review

This debut novel, the first of a projected series of five, recasts the defeat of the Spanish Armada with a Japanese motif in a World War II-like setting that takes place in a putative 25th century. Here sailing ships, cannons and gold have become space ships, beam weapons and aurium; and Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I, Mary Queen of Scots and the Pope have their counterparts also. Each former Earth power occupies one of the Hours of Heaven, clock-shaped sectors in space. England is now known as Amerika, Spain has turned into Yamato (Japan) and the Netherlands is Korea; in this space grid the Neutral Zone physically takes the place of what in the 15th century was the New World. What little plot exists is skewed to accommodate historical parallels, so that neither political infighting nor military conflict holds surprises for the reader. Adding to the difficulties of Kato's inert prose are too many offstage scenes, destroying both continuity and any hope of providing motivation for the individual characters. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

As overtures of war break out between sectors of space colonized by America and Japan, the fortunes of two brothers mirror the complexities of diverse cultures in a 24th century characterized by the politics of power. This first in a five-volume series chronicling humanity's far future combines military sf and sf adventure with a tribute to James Clavell's Shogun . Less convincing in its political maneuverings than in its gripping battle scenes, this belongs in large sf collections. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.