Cover image for The black arrow : a tale of the two roses
The black arrow : a tale of the two roses
Stevenson, Robert Louis, 1850-1894.
Publication Information:
New York : Scribner, 1987.
Physical Description:
pages cm
Reading Level:
980 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 9.0 14.0 505.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 7.6 18 Quiz: 13389 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :

On Order



In fifteenth-century England, when his father's murderer is revealed to be his guardian, seventeen-year-old Richard Shelton joins the fellowship of the Black Arrow in avenging the death, rescuing the woman he loves, and participating in the struggle between the Yorks and Lancasters in the War of the

Author Notes

Novelist, poet, and essayist Robert Louis Stevenson was born in Edinburgh, Scotland. A sickly child, Stevenson was an invalid for part of his childhood and remained in ill health throughout his life. He began studying engineering at Edinburgh University but soon switched to law. His true inclination, however, was for writing. For several years after completing his studies, Stevenson traveled on the Continent, gathering ideas for his writing. His Inland Voyage (1878) and Travels with a Donkey (1878) describe some of his experiences there. A variety of essays and short stories followed, most of which were published in magazines. It was with the publication of Treasure Island in 1883, however, that Stevenson achieved wide recognition and fame. This was followed by his most successful adventure story, Kidnapped, which appeared in 1886.

With stories such as Treasure Island and Kidnapped, Stevenson revived Daniel Defoe's novel of romantic adventure, adding to it psychological analysis. While these stories and others, such as David Balfour and The Master of Ballantrae (1889), are stories of adventure, they are at the same time fine studies of character. The Master of Ballantrae, in particular, is a study of evil character, and this study is taken even further in The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886).

In 1887 Stevenson and his wife, Fanny, went to the United States, first to the health spas of Saranac Lake, New York, and then on to the West Coast. From there they set out for the South Seas in 1889. Except for one trip to Sidney, Australia, Stevenson spent the remainder of his life on the island of Samoa with his devoted wife and stepson. While there he wrote The Wrecker (1892), Island Nights Entertainments (1893), and Catriona (1893), a sequel to Kidnapped. He also worked on St. Ives and The Weir of Hermiston, which many consider to be his masterpiece. He died suddenly of apoplexy, leaving both of these works unfinished. Both were published posthumously; St. Ives was completed by Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch, and The Weir of Hermiston was published unfinished. Stevenson was buried on Samoa, an island he had come to love very much.

Although Stevenson's novels are perhaps more accomplished, his short stories are also vivid and memorable. All show his power of invention, his command of the macabre and the eerie, and the psychological depth of his characterization.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

John Amend-Allp. 1
Book I The Two Lads
1. At the Sign of the Sun in Kettleyp. 17
2. In the Fenp. 24
3. The Fen Ferryp. 29
4. A Greenwood Companyp. 35
5. Bloody as the Hunterp. 42
6. To the Day's Endp. 49
7. The Hooded Facep. 55
Book II The Moat House
1. Dick Asks Questionsp. 65
2. The Two Oathsp. 72
3. The Room over the Chapelp. 79
4. The Passagep. 85
5. How Dick Changed Sidesp. 89
Book III My Lord Foxham
1. The House by the Shorep. 99
2. A Skirmish in the Darkp. 105
3. St Bride's Crossp. 111
4. The "Good Hope"p. 114
5. The "Good Hope" (continued)p. 121
6. The "Good Hope" (concluded)p. 126
Book IV The Disguise
1. The Denp. 133
2. "In Mine Enemies' House"p. 139
3. The Dead Spyp. 147
4. In The Abbey Churchp. 153
5. Earl Risinghamp. 161
6. Arblaster Againp. 164
Book V Crookback
1. The Shrill Trumpetp. 175
2. The Battle of Shorebyp. 181
3. The Battle of Shoreby (concluded)p. 187
4. The Sack of Shorebyp. 191
5. Night in the Woods: Alicia Risinghamp. 199
6. Night in the Woods (concluded): Dick and Joanp. 205
7. Dick's Revengep. 213
8. Conclusionp. 217