Cover image for James Welch : a critical companion
James Welch : a critical companion
Lupton, Mary Jane.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, [2004]

Physical Description:
xv, 164 pages ; 24 cm.
Biographical background on James Welch : poet and novelist -- Genres and literary heritage -- Winter in the blood (1974) -- The death of Jim Loney (1979) -- Fools crow (1986) -- The Indian lawyer (1991) -- The heartsong of charging elk.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS3573.E44 Z76 2004 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Through both his fiction and non-fiction writing, James Welch gives voice to the history, heritage, and cultural identity of the American Indian. This companion provides a fascinating exploration of the man, his writing, and the impact and influence of his literary output. With information based on a series of personal interviews conducted for this book, the biographical chapter offers an insightful account of Welch's life as a Blackfoot Indian, and as a poet and novelist.

Readers will gain further appreciation for Welch's literary contributions through an exploration of the themes and genres investigated in his writing. Welch and his work--including his work with film--are situated within the Indian literary and cultural heritage. Five subsequent chapters, organized chronologically, focus on full-length fictional works. Clear, accessible critical analyses are given for the novels Winter in the Blood (1974), The Death of Jim Loney (1979), Fools Crow (1986), The Indian Lawyer (1991), and The Heartsong of Charging Elk (2000).

Author Notes

MARY JANE LUPTON is Professor Emeritus at Morgan State University in Baltimore, where she taught Native American Literature, and African American Literature. She is the author of Maya Angelou: A Critical Companion (Greenwood 2001).

Table of Contents

Series Forewordp. ix
Acknowledgmentsp. xiii
1. Biographical Background on James Welch: Poet and Novelistp. 1
2. Genres and Literary Heritagep. 15
3. Winter in the Blood (1974)p. 37
4. The Death of Jim Loney (1979)p. 63
5. Fools Crow (1986)p. 83
6. The Indian Lawyer (1991)p. 105
7. The Heartsong of Charging Elk (2000)p. 127
Bibliographyp. 147
Indexp. 161