Cover image for Revisiting Mary Higgins Clark : a critical companion
Revisiting Mary Higgins Clark : a critical companion
De Roche, Linda.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, [2003]

Physical Description:
xi, 171 pages ; 25 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS3553.L287 Z66 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



One of the most popular and prolific writers of our day, Mary Higgins Clark continues to write bestselling, award-winning novels of mystery and suspense, attracting new fans worldwide and thrilling dedicated readers who have followed her career for nearly three decades. This revised Critical Companion offers an expanded discussion of the forms and conventions of suspense writing, along with updated biographical information about the Queen of Suspense. Covering Clark's most recent works, nine new chapters examine the novels and short stories published since 1996, including Daddy's Little Girl (2002). For each major work, a plot synopsis and analysis of character development is given. Themes and issues woven into her fiction--such as the role of the past in people's lives, repercussions of violence, and the concept of identity--are considered. Close critical readings delve deeper into these otherwise entertaining works to uncover psychological, feminist, and socio-political interpretations.

The updated and expanded bibliography offers librarians and readers a comprehensive list of Clark's published works, with reviews and criticism of the works covered in this volume. An extensive list of additional biographical sources includes the latest interviews. A bonus feature of this edition is a guide to the film adaptations of Clark's work.

Author Notes

LINDA DE ROCHE is Professor of English at Wesley College in Dover, Delaware. A specialist in American Literature, her publications include Mary Higgins Clark: A Critical Companion (Greenwood 1995), Eric Segal: A Critical Companion (Greenwood 1997) and A Student Companion to F. Scott Fitzgerald (Greenwood 2000).

Table of Contents

Series ForewordKathleen Gregory Klein
The Plot of Her Story Writing to Form
Mary Higgins Clark and the Conventions of Suspense Clark the
Storyteller Christmas Suspense
Moonlight Becomes You (1996)
Pretend You Don't See Her (1997)
You Belong to Me (1998)
We'll Meet Again (1999)
Before I Say Good-Bye (2000)
On the Street Where You Live (2001)
Daddy's Little Girl (2002)