Cover image for Camilla : her true story
Camilla : her true story
Graham, Caroline, 1966-
Personal Author:
Revised and updated edition.
Publication Information:
London : John Blake, [2003]

Physical Description:
368 pages, 24 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, portraits ; 20 cm
General Note:
Previous ed.: 2001.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
DA591.A45 P37 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



If there is one woman that has affected the turbulent affairs of the House ofindsor more than any other, that woman is Camilla Parker Bowles. Named byiana as the "third person" in her marriage to Charles, she hasingle-handedly altered the course of British monarchy.;Yet despite the facthat she is constantly in the public eye, despite the media attention and theumours, surprisingly little is known about the real Camilla. In this book,aroline Graham has spoken to not only friends and family of Camilla, butlso gleaned information from some of Camilla's advisors. She explores theale of Charles and Camilla's romance and Camilla's feelings about theublic's rejection of her and how she won over her critics to take her placet Charles' side.

Author Notes

Caroline Graham (born on July 17, 1931 in Nuneaton) is an English playwright, screenwriter and novelist. She attended the Open University, and received a degree in writing for the theatre from the University of Birmingham.

Her first published book was Fire Dance, a romance novel. She is best-known as the writer of the Chief Inspector Barnaby series, which was made into a series for television in the UK known as Midsomer Murders. The first Inspector Barnaby novel, The Killings at Badger's Drift, was published in 1988 and named as one of The Top 100 Crime Novels of All Time. Since then she has written six more, with latest novel A Ghost in the Machine published in 2004.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Stuart Higgins
Forewordp. vii
Introductionp. xix
1 First Lovep. 1
2 The Prince is Smittenp. 17
3 A Dream Weddingp. 31
4 Shy Dip. 49
5 Happiness Lostp. 71
6 The Spectre of Camillap. 81
7 Falling Apartp. 99
8 Diana Fights Backp. 119
9 The Devil and the Deep Blue Seap. 135
10 Telephone Sexp. 145
11 Over at Lastp. 169
12 The Scandalp. 173
13 Bending with the Windp. 189
14 Duty Before Lovep. 201
15 Rebuildingp. 207
16 A Royal Confessionp. 221
17 A Princess Adriftp. 243
18 Ending the Liep. 265
19 Nights of Sex and Winep. 273
20 Diana's Revengep. 285
21 The Transitionp. 289
22 The End of the Affairp. 299
23 Operation PBp. 307
24 'Queen' Camillap. 323
25 The Future Sealed with a Kissp. 339