Cover image for Waters luminous & deep : shorter fictions
Waters luminous & deep : shorter fictions
Pierce, Meredith Ann.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
[New York] : Viking, [2004]

Physical Description:
311 pages ; 22 cm
Prelude: night voyage -- The fall of Ys -- Where the wild geese go -- Icerose -- Rafiddilee -- The Sea-Hag -- The frogskin slippers -- Rampion.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 6.0 12.0 79674.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
Y FICTION Young Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Meredith Ann Pierce’s acclaimed novels are the proof of a remarkable imagination. Here is more proof—eight shorter works of fiction, each with a strong heroine, a tangibly imagined world, and unforgettable imagery. Included here are the text to her only picture book, “Where the Wild Geese Go”; the tale that showed a teenaged Meredith that she was, indeed, a writer (“In Quest of the Icerose”); and a powerful novella originally commissioned by SFWA Grandmaster Andre Norton (“Rampion”). Waters Luminous and Deep encapsulates the evolution of one writer’s unmistakable style, and has all of the power of her longer work.

Author Notes

Meredith Ann Pierce is the author of a number of acclaimed fantasy novels. She received both a B.A. and an M.A. from the University of Florida and an M.L.S. from Florida State University, and spends her days as a librarian. By night, she writes. Her hobbies include composing music and playing the harp. She lives in the woods south of Micanopy, Florida, in a house powered by solar energy

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Gr. 7-12. The title of Pierce's collection of shorter fictions is as descriptive as it is evocative. Water is the reigning element, and its power isolates maidens in waterbound castles, locks kingdoms in perpetual winter, and claims the lives of the innocent as often as the deserving. Echoes of fairy lore reverberate throughout, with characters reminiscent of the Snow Queen in Icerose to the Frog Prince and Cinderella in The Frogskin Slippers. Pierce's fans will especially relish the confiding introductions that head each story and the inclusion of two tales she penned as a teenager, which reveal a talented writer already fascinated by the themes that so richly vein her later work: the yearning to chart one's own course, the aching transition from girlhood to womanhood. Such currents run especially strong in the concluding novella, Rampion, about half-sisters who deal with their unscrupulous father in two very different ways. Pierce's longer tales are more engrossing than her shorter, filigreed mood pieces, but overall, this is a shimmering, stirring archipelago of tales. --Jennifer Mattson Copyright 2004 Booklist

School Library Journal Review

Gr 6-9-A true storyteller's voice resounds throughout these tales, half of which are published for the first time here. As Pierce indicates in her introduction, water figures in all of the stories as demon, obstacle, or savior. The intricate thread of each selection will securely tie up readers' imagination and hold it to the end. The triumph of good over evil is a common theme as is the quest for independence and the strength and cleverness of women. In "The Fall of Ys," the author twists a traditional Celtic tale around. "Where the Wild Geese Go" involves an adventure that turns out to be a dream somewhat reminiscent of Dorothy's realization in The Wizard of Oz. In "Icerose," two friends work together to free their land from the power of the Icewitch. "Rafiddilee," written when Pierce was 14, is about a dwarf sold into bondage and his love for a young queen. A humorous tone underlies "The Sea Hag," while magic plays a part in "The Frogskin Slippers." The final tale, "Rampion," is the most intricate and has a welcome, unexpected ending. This is a rich and rewarding collection that will appeal to a wide audience.-Renee Steinberg, formerly at Fieldstone Middle School, Montvale, NJ (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
Prelude: Night Voyagep. 3
The Fall of Ysp. 5
Where the Wild Geese Gop. 18
Icerosep. 47
Rafiddileep. 83
The Sea-Hagp. 152
The Frogskin Slippersp. 179
Rampionp. 219