Cover image for The case of the twisted kitty
The case of the twisted kitty
Erickson, John R., 1943-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, N.Y. : Puffin Books, [2004]

Physical Description:
131 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
After getting blamed when Sally May's car ends up in a snowdrift, Hank suspects that this is another plot by Pete the Barncat to get him in trouble.
Reading Level:

660 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.5 3.0 78103.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 3.5 7 Quiz: 38630 Guided reading level: N.
Added Author:

Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



It's winter in the Texas Panhandle, and the ranch is covered in snow and ice.  So when Sally May sets off for town, Hank decides to follow Pete's misguided advice and bravely escorts her car down the slick road.  Before Hank realizes what's happening, Sally May's car skids into a snow drift-and she is angrier than ever before.  And who does she blame but poor Hank!  After consulting with his trusty partner, Drover, Hank decides the only way to win back Sally May's affection is to be on his absolute best behavior.  Will Hank be able to turn over a new leaf and become the well-mannered dog that every owner dreams of?

Author Notes

John Richard Erickson was born in Midland, Texas on October 20, 1943. In 1966, he received a B.A. degree from the University of Texas in Austin and studied for two years at Harvard Divinity School.

He began to publish short stories while working full-time as a cowboy, farmhand, and ranch manager. In 1982, he started his own publishing company called Maverick Books, which published the first Hank the Cowdog book in 1983. He is the author of the best-selling Hank the Cowdog series, which won an Audie for Outstanding Children's Series from the Audio Publisher's Association in 1993. His stories have also won Oppenheimer, Wrangler, and Lamplighter Awards.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Drover's Violent Fantasiesp. 1
Chapter 2 The Winter Ski Patrolp. 10
Chapter 3 Pete and I Become Friendsp. 21
Chapter 4 Special Escort Dutyp. 32
Chapter 5 Monster Woman Invades the Ranchp. 42
Chapter 6 We Are the Victims of Treacheryp. 53
Chapter 7 The Geothermal Procedurep. 64
Chapter 8 Pete Captures the Deep Freezep. 76
Chapter 9 Our Clever Plan to Defeat the Catp. 88
Chapter 10 Justice Strikes the Catp. 99
Chapter 11 I Win the Heart of Sally May at Last!p. 112
Chapter 12 Our Final Triumph Over the Catp. 123