Cover image for Love comes softly
Love comes softly
Oke, Janette, 1935-
Personal Author:
Newly edited and revised.
Publication Information:
Minneapolis : Bethany House, [2003]

Physical Description:
237 pages ; 22 cm
Reading Level:
940 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 6.0 9.0 8130.

Reading Counts RC High School 6.9 13 Quiz: 07123 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Christian

On Order



Love Comes Softly introduced the characters of Marty and Clark Davis, whose tragic circumstances brought them to a "marriage of convenience" on the frontier prairies during the mid 1800s. The story of how Clark's patient, caring love mirrored that of the heavenly Father, drawing Marty to faith and to love, has captured the hearts and imaginations of over one million readers on Book One alone

Author Notes

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana.

Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books.

Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

1. The Grim Reaperp. 13
2. A Mama for Missiep. 23
3. Marriage of Conveniencep. 29
4. Morning Encounterp. 37
5. Iffen I Can Jest Stick It Outp. 47
6. Housecleaningp. 53
7. A Welcome Visitorp. 61
8. It's a Cruel Worldp. 69
9. The Lord's Dayp. 79
10. Neighborly Hog Killin'p. 89
11. Togethernessp. 93
12. Finishin' My Sewin'p. 97
13. Ellenp. 105
14. Missiep. 111
15. Disclosed Secretp. 121
16. Thoughtful and Caringp. 125
17. Mysterious Absencep. 131
18. Christmas Preparationsp. 137
19. Snowboundp. 143
20. A Visit From Ma Grahamp. 155
21. A New Babyp. 165
22. Ma Bares Her Heartp. 171
23. Visitorsp. 175
24. New Discoveriesp. 187
25. Catastrophe!p. 191
26. Barn Raisin'p. 199
27. Laurap. 203
28. The Big Dayp. 207
29. Plantingp. 213
30. Sorrowp. 221
31. New Strengthp. 225
32. Love Comes Softlyp. 229