Cover image for Love takes wing
Love takes wing
Oke, Janette, 1935-
Personal Author:
Newly edited and revised.
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minn. : Bethany House Publishers, [2004]

Physical Description:
240 pages ; $ 22 cm.
Reading Level:
840 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.5 10.0 8132.

Reading Counts RC High School 6.9 13 Quiz: 07130 Guided reading level: NR.
Geographic Term:


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Book 7 of the bestselling Love Comes Softly series. Belinda Davis had trained as a nurse to assist her older brother, Doctor Luke. But as time goes by and she sees those she's grown up with getting married and settling into their own lives, Belinda becomes restless. What had seemed exciting and fresh becomes dull and routine. When she meets an elderly woman who needs nursing care, Belinda jumps at the invitation to go to Boston--a large, "civilized" city with cultural opportunities she's never even dreamed of in her little prairie town. But in spite of financial security and countless new experiences, Belinda finds herself restless, lonely, and empty inside.

Author Notes

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana.

Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books.

Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

1. The End of a Long Dayp. 9
2. Girl Talkp. 20
3. A Neighborhood Partyp. 28
4. Such a Short Timep. 35
5. Back to Workp. 44
6. Randp. 51
7. Supperp. 58
8. Amy Jop. 66
9. An Accidentp. 78
10. Concernp. 86
11. Sorrowsp. 93
12. A New Kind of Sufferingp. 101
13. The Patientp. 108
14. A Busy Summerp. 118
15. Confusionp. 125
16. Dinnerp. 135
17. Looking for Answersp. 142
18. Changesp. 150
19. Bostonp. 163
20. Getting Acquaintedp. 171
21. A New Lifep. 182
22. The Unexpectedp. 191
23. Pierrep. 202
24. Extended Horizonsp. 213
25. A Taste of Travelp. 221
26. A Discoveryp. 231