Cover image for Love's abiding joy
Love's abiding joy
Oke, Janette, 1935-
Personal Author:
Newly edited and revised.
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minn. : Bethany House Publishers, [2003]

Physical Description:
240 pages ; 22 cm.
Reading Level:
880 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.6 10.0 8133.

Reading Counts RC High School 7.9 13 Quiz: 07133 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Christian
FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



The coming of the railroad has bridged those frontier miles, making possible the long-awaited reunion between daughter Missie and her parents, Clark and Marty Davis. And the visit turns out to be everything they had expected, including the heartwarming introductions to two adorable grandsons. Then the joyful time is shattered... Book jacket.

Author Notes

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana.

Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books.

Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

1. Familyp. 9
2. Birthday Dinnerp. 19
3. Planningp. 25
4. The Cityp. 33
5. The Real Journey Beginsp. 45
6. Arrivalp. 63
7. Catching Upp. 75
8. Marty Meets Mariap. 87
9. The Rescuep. 95
10. A Day of a Million Yearsp. 113
11. Strugglesp. 129
12. Juanp. 143
13. Adjustmentsp. 155
14. Growingp. 169
15. Movingp. 181
16. Winterp. 191
17. Jeddp. 201
18. From Death to Lifep. 213
19. Plans and Farewellsp. 225
20. Homeward Boundp. 235