Cover image for Christopher Mouse : the tale of a small traveler
Title:
Christopher Mouse : the tale of a small traveler
Author:
Wise, William, 1923-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, [2004]

©2004
Physical Description:
152 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Summary:
After being sold to an unscrupulous pet store owner, a young mouse lives with several owners and has many adventures, before ending up with an appreciative family.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
820 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.3 3.0 79575.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 6.2 7 Quiz: 36313 Guided reading level: X.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781582348780
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world.
Though his life begins "in a commonplace way," Christopher Mouse is not the least bit common. From his birth in an ordinary wire cage, to his various young owners who range from bad to worse, his escape from a youthful taxidermist, and finally his close encounter with a large cat in the Egyptian room at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christopher proves an adventurer of the most intrepid sort - and a budding poet as well. With the delightful feel of a lost (and found) classic, this is the story of a rather extraordinary mouse who, through the force of will, and indeed, good luck, finds his own small way in a very large world.
A classic mouse tale in the tradition of Stuart Little and The Cricket in Times Square .
About the Author
William Wise is the author of many wonderful books for children, including the picture books Ten Sly Piranhas and Dinosaurs Forever , and the novel Nell of Branford Hall . He lives in New York City.
About the Illustrator
Patrick Benson won the Mother Goose Award for his illustration of William Mayne's The Book of Hob Stories . He has illustrated more than twenty books, including Owl Babies by Martin Waddell and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman, a Christopher Award winner.
Recognition
Booklist starred review
Reviews
"Christopher Mouse's conversational account of his life will delight young readers. This charming protagonist makes it through everything safely and leaves children wondering where life will lead him next. The occasional pen-and-ink illustrations offer a perfect little glimpse into his world." School Library Journal
A Texas Bluebonnet Reading List title for 2005-2006

A Book Links "Lasting Connection" t


Author Notes

William Wise is the author of many books for adults and young people, He lives in New York City, in a nearly mouse-free apartment
Patrick Benson is the illustrator of such favorites as Owl Babies by Martin Waddell, The Minpins by Roald Dahl, and Mole and the Baby Bird by Marjorie Newman. He lives in the Scottish Borders with his family, including two guinea pigs, one hamster, one tortoise, two dogs, three fish, and two horses


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Gr. 3-5. Desperaux, the plucky little mouse who won the 2004 Newbery Medal, lived a life of high adventure. Christopher, the small traveler, lives in neither a castle nor a dungeon, and there are no princesses around. But even without the fairy-tale trappings, his quest is no less full of daring, lessons, and hope. Christopher starts his story in a manner reminiscent of Dickens: My life began in the most commonplace way. I was born in an ordinary wire cage, on a soft bed of paper shavings. While still in their cage, Christopher's mother teaches her son and his siblings how to find a good owner in the pet shop for which they are destined, how to read, and even how to escape a home if need be. As it turns out, all these skills are necessary. Author Wise moves Christopher from one home to the next with ease and humor, punctuating the many everyday incidents with the actions of a dangerous a cat, a nefarious boy, and a young taxidermist. The writing is nicely mannered but very accessible, making the book not only a winner for reading aloud but also a delightful offering for children moving past beginning readers. The ink illustrations and the enticing cover will help them along. --Ilene Cooper Copyright 2004 Booklist


School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-4-Christopher Mouse may be small, but he has big adventures, all of which he has carefully documented in his first-person narrative. His conversational account of his life will delight young readers. After learning about poetry from a chatty parrot in a pet store, he creates verses and odes of varying lengths whenever the mood strikes him. The story begins with his early days with his mother and siblings to the time he is sold to a pet store in Greenwich Village. He is then sold to Freddy, but his time with his caring young owner is short-lived. Treachery abounds in the devious realm of Freddy's classmate Aubrey, a greedy child determined to make money to please his overbearing father, and the Youthful Taxidermist, who is looking for a new specimen for his collection. Christopher's escape results in an encounter with the giant shadow of an Egyptian cat at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. But never fear-this charming protagonist makes it through everything safely and leaves children wondering where life will lead him next. The occasional pen-and-ink illustrations offer a perfect little glimpse into his world.-Genevieve Gallagher, Orange County Public Library, VA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Table of Contents

1 At Mrs. Crimmins's Placep. 1
2 "When Mrs. Crimmins Comes to Fetch You"p. 9
3 Last Days at Homep. 19
4 Poems and Partingp. 33
5 Freddy Willisp. 45
6 The Orphan Boyp. 57
7 "Oh, Sad is the Mousei"p. 69
8 Desperate Circumstancesp. 79
9 The Boy with the Stuffed Owlp. 89
10 Something Overheardp. 99
11 On My Ownp. 111
12 Life Among the Ladiesp. 117
13 Weary Travelerp. 129
14 Walter and Abbyp. 135
15 Journey's Endp. 145