Cover image for Repentances
Meyers, Annette.
Personal Author:
[Large print edition].
Publication Information:
Waterville, Me. : Thorndike Press, [2004]

Physical Description:
408 pages ; 23 cm
Geographic Term:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
LARGE PRINT FICTION Adult Large Print - Floating collection Floating Collection - Large Print

On Order



The novel is set in two parts. The first part deals with the consequences of a terrible lie. As a result, a crime is committed, two crimes, in fact, a kidnapping and a murder. The lie and the subsequent crime impact the lives of all the characters. In the second part of the novel, the past and the present meet head-on. Spanning generations and decades, Repentances is a breathtaking historical mystery novel in which sins from the past never stay buried, and the only hope is to uncover the truth.

Author Notes

Annette Meyers lives in New York.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Meyers, whose Olivia Brown series takes place in 1920s Greenwich Village, keeps the setting but flips the calendar ahead to 1936 in her latest effort. Europe is heading toward war, andewish immigrants are trying to rescue relatives from Hitler's grasp. Nathan Ebanholz, who has paid an agent to arrange passage for his wife and daughter, learns at the last minute that there will be no joyous reunion; his family has perished in a fire set by anti-Semites. When the agent refuses to return Nathan's money, a chain of events is triggered that leads to kidnapping and murder. The past will not remain buried, and only the truth will allow those affected to face the future with a measure of happiness. Meyers' compelling story again draws on fascinating details of life in Greenwich Village, but this time the author also offers a powerful portrayal of the plight of immigrants, a theme that resonates not just in history but in contemporary life as well. Recommend this one to all readers of historical mystery. --Barbara Bibel Copyright 2004 Booklist

Publisher's Weekly Review

This engrossing tale of murder and deception from Meyers (Murder Me Now, etc.) captures the tones and accents of an earlier era while maintaining a sense of urgency and high suspense. In 1936, Nathan Ebanholz, a Jewish immigrant, is trying to bring his wife and baby daughter from Europe to New York to escape the Nazi threat. He has paid Marvin Zweikel, who makes a good living at this human trade, to arrange their safe passage, but his loved ones are not on the ship they're supposed to be on, as Zweikel discovers. When Ebanholz, who's having an affair with Zweikel's wife Stella, learns that the couple have hidden the true fate of his wife and daughter from him, he kills Stella in a rage. In a further impulsive act, Nathan kidnaps a sick three-year-old girl from the hospital where Stella worked as a nurse and takes the youngster to the suburban New Jersey home of his childless sister, Anna, and her gentile husband, a doctor. The rest of the book focuses on the girl Rosie, who grows up ignorant of her origins to become an artist in Greenwich Village, though she is increasingly haunted by fearful visions. Inevitably, the new generation repeats the mistakes of the old in a well-crafted novel that manages to entertain as it seriously explores issues of good and evil. Mystery Guild featured alternate. (Mar. 24) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved